LibGuides: Federal Programs (SSI, Medicaid, and SNAP) Research : Legislative History, Hearings, Committee Reports, & Debates

Sources of Hearings (Not Subject Specific)

Below are links to a selection of online resources offering information and materials relating to hearings on federal legislation. These sources are not focused on hearings on government benefits legislation.

Congressional Hearings, FDsys Website
99th Cong. (1985-85)-.
Congressional Hearings Summaries, LexisAdvance
"The HEARNG file is a group file containing transcripts of congressional hearings, individual written testimony of witnesses and detailed reports of select committee hearings." (Lexis)
Hearings, Proquest Congressional
1817-.
Hearings, Microfiche, NYU Law Library
US Testimony, Westlaw
"Agendas and witness lists for U.S. congressional committee hearings, transcripts of oral statements, and written statements submitted to committees of Congress. Coverage begins with January 1993 and includes increased coverage from January 1996 to present and selected coverage from 1993 to 1996." (Westlaw)

Sources of Floor Debates (Not Subject Specific)

Below are links to a selection of online resources offering floor debates. These sources are not limited to debates on government benefits legislation.

Daily Congressional Record & Rules, Proquest Congressional
99th Cong. (1985-1986)-.
Congressional Record, Bound Edition, FDsys Website
1998-.
Congressional Record, FDsys Website
1994-.
Congressional Record, HeinOnline
1873-2008.
Congressional Record, LexisAdvance
"The Congressional Record, All Congresses Combined (RECORD) file contains the full-text of the Congressional Record from the 99th Congress to the current Congress."
Congressional Record, THOMAS Website
101th Cong. (1989-1990)-.
Congressional Record, Westlaw
"Congressional Record has the text of the congressional record from 1985 to present."

Sources of Committee Reports (Not Subject Specific)

Below are links to a selection of online resources offering current and former congressional reports. These sources are not focused on committee reports relating to government benefits legislation.

Congressional Reports, Microfiche, NYU Law Library
Congressional Reports, FDsys Website
104th Cong. (1995-96)-.
Committee Reports, LexisAdvance
"The Committee Report file contains the full text of House and Senate Committee Reports. . .Coverage begins with selected coverage of the 101st and 102nd Congress and includes full coverage of the 103rd Congress through the present."
Committee Reports, THOMAS Website
104th Cong. (1995-96)-.
House & Senate Reports, Proquest Congressional
1817-.
Legislative History - U.S. Code, 1948 to present, Westlaw
"All congressional committee reports, including reports on bills that did not become law, beginning with 1990. Also sets out the legislative history of public laws as reprinted in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN) from 1948 through 1989 . . ."