Database Alerts: New Journal Issues and Search/Subject Alerts
Many databases permit users to set up alerts. Two common types of alerts permitted by databases include:
- New Issue Alerts: These alerts notify researchers when a new issue of a journal is added to the database.
- Subject/Search Alerts: These alerts notify researchers when new content matching a topic or a search string is added to a database.
Database alerts are delivered in a variety of ways, including email, RSS feeds, and twitter (rarely).
Watch the video to the right for a demonstration on setting up alerts in databases. In general, after you've found a pertinent journal or database, look for the instructions on setting up the alert. Every database has a different method for setting up alerts. Many databases require the researcher to register for a free account. Further, an nyu.edu email address is often required.
Alerts / Select Databases
Below is a selection of databases that permit users to set up alerts.
- Index to Legal Periodicals (EBSCOhost)EBSCOhost permits search and journal alerts, via email and RSS feeds. Access limited to NYU faculty and students.
- JSTOR"You can save search alerts and electronic table of contents (or eTOC) alerts. JSTOR can send you an email message or an RSS feed update when content relevant to your research is added to the platform." (JSTOR) Access limited to NYU faculty and students.
- Legaltrac (Gale)Gale permits new content and search alerts. Access limited to NYU faculty and students.
- ProquestAccess limited to NYU faculty and students.

Loading...
