Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "IRS & Other Govt Websites" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

IRS & Other Govt Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Office of Tax Policy, U.S. Department of Treasury Website

The Office of Tax Policy (OTA) develops and implements tax policies and programs, reviews regulations and rulings to administer the Internal Revenue Code, negotiates tax treaties, provides economic and legal policy analysis for domestic and international tax policy decisions, and provides estimates for the President's budget, fiscal policy decisions, and cash management decisions." (U.S. Treasury website) The OTA webpages offer a range of pertinent materials including:

      

    FinCen

        

      U.S. Congress Websites

      • Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives Website
        "All Bills for raising Revenue shall originate in the House of Representatives; but the Senate may propose or concur with Amendments as on other Bills." (U.S. Const. Art. I, ยง7, cl. 1., quoted on Committee website) The Committee website offers hearing testimony, news releases, and so on.
      • Joint Committee on Taxation, U.S. Congress Website
        "The Joint Committee Staff is closely involved in every aspect of the tax legislative process. Among other things, the Joint Committee Staff (1) prepares hearing pamphlets, committee reports, and conference reports (statements of managers), (2) assists in the drafting of statutory language. . ." (Committee website) The site offers JCT publications, including Bluebooks, both current and historical.
      • Committee on Finance, U.S. Senate Website
        "The Committee concerns itself with matters relating to: taxation and other revenue measures generally, and those relating to the insular possessions . . ." (Committee website)

      U.S. Tax Court Website

      "The United States Tax Court is a court of record established by Congress under Article I of the U.S. Constitution. When the Commissioner of Internal Revenue has determined a tax deficiency, the taxpayer may dispute the deficiency in the Tax Court before paying any disputed amount." The Court website offers:

          

        U.S. Congressional Budget Office

        "Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process." (CBO Website) The CBO Website offers:

         

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip