Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Judicial Opinions" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Judicial Opinions Print Page
  Search: 
 

Judicial Opinions Pages

Below are links to the pages located under the tab, "Judicial Opinions."

      

    Additional Instruction on Case Law Research

    Below are links to sources offering instruction on case law research.

        

      Tax Case Law Basics

      A range of courts–including the U.S. Tax Court, U.S. Ct. of Fed. Claims, U.S. district cts., and U.S. appeal cts.–adjudicate disputes involving federal taxation. So, reporters publishing the decisions of these courts will offer judicial opinions relating to federal tax issues.

      The U.S. Tax Court issues three types of decisions:

      • Regular decisions;
      • Memorandum decisions (unpublished decisions, generally involving settled legal issues) and
      • Summary decisions (involving controversies of below $50,000).

      "The U.S. Board of Tax Appeals is the predecessor of the United States Tax Court. Prior to 1942, the Board of the Tax Appeals was the prepayment forum for taxpayers who wanted judicial review of the Internal Revenue Service’s determination of deficiencies in income, excess profits, and estate and gift taxes." (U.S. Board of Tax Appeals, IRM § 4.10.7.2.9.1)

          

        AODs

        U.S. Suprme Court decisions are binding on the IRS. For opinions issued against the IRS from other courts, the IRS will often issue an announcement on its position. See AODs.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip