Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Internal Revenue Manual" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Internal Revenue Manual Print Page
  Search: 
 

Internal Revenue Manual Basics

The "Internal Revenue Manual . . . .serves as the single official compilation of policies, delegated authorities, procedures, instructions, and guidelines relating to the organization, functions, administration, and operations of the Service." (IRM Performance Management §1.4.1.7)

      

    Abbreviation, Internal Revenue Manual

    Below is a pertinent abbreviation.

    • Internal Revenue Manual=I.R.M. or IRM
        

      Sources for Historical IRM

      Sources of Internal Revenue Manual

      Below are links to select sources offering the Internal Revenue Manual.

      Citation, Internal Revenue Manual

      The following citation resources may be informative.

      • IRM § 1.11.2.5.8.1, Citing the IRM (1. When citing an IRM section or subsection use the acronym "IRM" along with the IRM number. Don't spell out "Internal Revenue Manual.: 2. When citing multiple IRM sections or subsections within the same paragraph, place the acronym "IRM" before each referenced section or subsection. Also, include the complete IRM number when referencing the IRM section. Example: Proper IRM Reference Format• Correct format: IRM 2.3.4.5 and IRM 2.3.4.6 • Incorrect format: IRMs 2.3.4.5 and 2.3.4.6 3. Include the IRM part, chapter or section title when referring to other IRM parts, chapters or sections. Adding the title helps readers find the information in the event the content is moved to another IRM subsection within the document. 4. When referencing a subsection within an IRM, insert the entire IRM number down to the lowest level. Include the paragraph or list identifier and the IRM or subsection title.")
      • TaxCite, Pt. 1, C, 5, Internal Revenue Manual
          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip