Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Letter Rulings" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Letter Rulings Print Page
  Search: 
 

Letter Ruling Basics

"A 'letter ruling' , also known as a 'private letter ruling' , is a written determination issued to a taxpayer by an associate chief counsel office in response to the taxpayer's written inquiry, filed prior to the filing of returns or reports that are required by the tax laws, about its status for tax purposes or the tax effects of its acts or transactions." (Letter Rulings, IRM § 4.8.8.12.2.3)

"A private letter ruling, or PLR, is a written statement issued to a taxpayer that interprets and applies tax laws to the taxpayer's specific set of facts . . . A PLR is issued in response to a written request submitted by a taxpayer . . ." (IRS Website)

Letter rulings are not published in the Internal Revenue Bulletin.

      

    Citation, Letter Rulings

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook R. 14, Administrative and Executive Materials
    • Bluebook T1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ("Private Letter Rulings: Cite by number and the date issued, if available. > I.R.S. Priv. Ltr. Rul. 86-01-012 (Sept. 30, 1985) . . .")
    • IRM § 4.10.7.2.10.2, Citing PLRs and TAMs ("Letter rulings and technical advice memorandums are cited PLR or TAM, respectively, followed by a seven digit number. For example, PLR 8210019 or TAM 9643001. The first two digits indicate the year the ruling was published, for example, 1982 and 1996, respectively . . .")
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, C. 3c, Private Letter Rulings and Technical Advice Memoranda

     

        

      Sources of Letter Rulings

      Below are links to select sources offering private letter rulings.

      Abbreviations, Letter Rulings

      Below is a pertinent abbreviation.

      • Private Letter Ruling=Priv. Ltr. Rul. or PLR
      • Letter Ruling=Ltr. Rul. or LTR
          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip