Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Technical Advice Memoranda" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Technical Advice Memoranda Print Page
  Search: 
 

Technical Advice Memoranda Basics

"A technical advice memorandum, or TAM, is guidance furnished by the Office of Chief Counsel upon the request of an IRS director or an area director, appeals, in response to technical or procedural questions that develop during a proceeding. A request for a TAM generally stems from an examination of a taxpayer's return, a consideration of a taxpayer's claim for a refund or credit, or any other matter involving a specific taxpayer under the jurisdiction of the territory manager or the area director, appeals." (IRS Website)

"Technical Advice Memorandums (TAM) are requested by IRS area offices after a return has been filed, often in conjunction with an ongoing examination. TAMs are binding on the Service in relation to the taxpayer who is the subject of the ruling." (Private Letter Rulings and Technical Advice Memorandums, IRM § 4.10.7.2.10)

TAMs are not published in the Internal Revenue Bulletin.

 

      

    Citation, Technical Advice Memoranda

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook T 1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ("Technical Advice Memoranda: Cite by number and the date issued, if available. > I.R.S. Tech.Adv.Mem. 85-04-005 (Sept. 28, 1984) . . .")
    • Bluebook R. 14, Administrative and Executive Materials
    • IRM § 4.10.7.2.10.2, Citing PLRs and TAMs ("Letter rulings and technical advice memorandums are cited PLR or TAM, respectively, followed by a seven digit number. For example, PLR 8210019 or TAM 9643001. The first two digits indicate the year the ruling was published, for example, 1982 and 1996, respectively . . .")
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, C. 3c, Private Letter Rulings and Technical Advice Memoranda
        

      Sources of Technical Advice Memoranda

      Below are links to select sources offering technical advice memoranda.

      Abbreviation, Technical Advice Memoranda

      Below is a pertinent abbreviation.

      • Technical Advice Memorandum=Tech. Adv. Memo. or T.A.M. or TAM
          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip