Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Notices" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Notices Print Page
  Search: 
 

Notice Basics

"A notice is a public pronouncement by the Service that may contain guidance that involves substantive interpretations of the Internal Revenue Code or other provisions of the law." (Notice Defined, IRM § 32.2.2.3.3)

"Notices are public announcements issued by the Internal Revenue Service. Notices appear in the Internal Revenue Bulletin and are included in the bound Cumulative Bulletin." (Miscellaneous Documents, IRM § 4.10.7.2.4.1)

"IRS Notices are public pronouncements containing guidance that involves substantive interpretations of the code or other provisions of the law. Notices may also be used for materials that would be appropriate for an announcement, but otherwise need to be preserved in the Cumulative Bulletin. . . ." (Inventory of IRS Guidance Documents — A Draft, Tax Notes Today)

      

    Citation, Notices

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook T1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ("Cite all other Treasury materials, including Delegation Orders (Deleg. Order), Treasury Orders (Treas. Order), Treasury Directives (Treas. Dir.), Notices, Announcements, and News Releases to the Cumulative Bulletin, Internal Revenue Bulletin, or Internal Revenue Manual (IRM), if therein. Otherwise cite by number and date issued . . . I.R.S. Notice 84-9, 1984-1 C.B. 341.. . .")
        

      Sources of Notices

      Below are links to select sources offering notices.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip