Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Bills" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Bills Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tax Bills Basics

"After a bill is introduced in the House, it is referred to the House Committee on Ways and Means, which has primary jurisdiction over revenue bills. . . .The first version of a bill subject to mark-up is often called the Chairman's mark . . ." (House Ways and Means, Portfolio 100-2nd, Bloomberg BNA) (Footnotes omitted)

"In the Senate, the bill is first referred to the previous hitSenate Finance Committeenext hit, which has primary jurisdiction in the Senate over revenue bills." (Senate Finance Committee, Portfolio 100-2nd, Bloomberg BNA)

      

    Citation, Tax Bills

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook R. 13.2, Bills and Resolutions
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, B1, Bills and Resolutions
    • TaxCite, Pt. 3, C., Tax Legislation (Listing citations for commonly cited legislation, as well as associated bill numbers)
        

      Current Awareness Services or Publications

      Below are links to a selection of online resources offering current awareness publications or services.

      • Bloomberg BNA
        Publications include:
        *Daily Tax Report
        *Tax Practice Bulletin
        *Tax Management Memorandum
      • CCH
        Publications include:
        *Federal Tax Day
        *Federal Tax Weekly
        *Taxes--The Tax Magazine
        To receive these publications via email or RSS feed, click on Tracker News.
      • IRS Guide Wire, IRS Website
        "Subscribe to IRS GuideWire to receive notification of guidance issued by the IRS. You will receive an e-mail with a link to the day's revenue rulings, revenue procedures, notices and announcements on IRS.gov. GuideWire also provides notification of IRS-issued regulations and links to the regulations in the Federal Register on the Web site of the U.S. Archives." (IRS Website)
      • Lexis Advance
        Publications include:
        *Some Tax Analysts publications
      • RIA
        Publications include:
        *RIA Tax Watch
        *Federal Taxes Weekly Alert Newsletter
      • Tax Analysts
        Publications include:
        *Tax Notes
        *Tax Notes Today
      • Westlaw
        Publications include:
        *RIA Tax Watch
        *Federal Taxes Weekly Alert Newsletter

      Sources of Tax Bills, Current and Historical

      Below are links to a selection of online resources offering the fulltext or highlights from current and former tax bills.

      Sources of Bills, Current and Historical (Not Specific to Tax Law)

      Below are links to a selection of online resources offering current and former federal bills. These sources are not focused on tax bills.

      Additional Instruction on Legislative History Research

      Below are links to sources offering instruction on legislative history research.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip