Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Hearings" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Hearings Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tax Hearing Basics

The "Ways and Means [Committee, H.O.R.] is empowered to hold hearings and mark-up sessions . . . During hearings, the committee hears from witnesses on the advisability of the legislation. This can include the Treasury's Assistant Secretary of Tax Policy, high-level IRS employees, tax practitioners, legal scholars, and others." (House Ways and Means, Portfolio, 100-2nd, Bloomberg BNA)

The "Senate Finance [Committee] may hold hearings and markup sessions . . ." (Senate Finance Committee, Portfolio 100-2nd, Blooomberg BNA)

      

    Citation, Tax Hearings

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook R. 13.3(a), Federal Committee Hearings
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, B2, Hearings 
        

      Abbreviations, Tax Hearings

      Below are pertinent abbreviations.

      • House Committee on Ways and Means=H. Comm. on Ways & Means
      • Senate Finance Committee=S. Comm. on Fin.
          

        Additional Instruction on Legislative History Research

        Below are links to sources offering instruction on legislative history research.

        Sources of Tax Hearings

        Below are links to a selection of online resources offering information and materials relating to hearings on federal tax legislation.

        Sources of Hearings (Not Specific to Tax Law)

        Below are links to a selection of online resources offering information and materials relating to hearings on federal legislation. These sources are not focused on tax hearings.

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip