Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Current Regulations" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Current Regulations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tax Regulations Basics

"A regulation is issued by the Internal Revenue Service and Treasury Department to provide guidance for new legislation or to address issues that arise with respect to existing Internal Revenue Code sections. Regulations interpret and give directions on complying with the law." (IRS website)

Final regulations (or rules) are published in the Federal Register and are codified in the Code of Federal Regulations. IRS regulations are mostly found in volume 26 of the CFR.

Final and temporary regulations are "printed . . .[u]nder the heading 'Treasury Decisions' (T.D.) in the Internal Revenue Bulletins (I.R.B.), . . . [and] in the Cumulative Bulletin (C.B.)." (Publication of Regulations, IRM § 4.10.7.2.3.5) Treasury Decisions (either final or temporary regulations) are numbered sequentially. 

As per the Bluebook citation quoted below, citations to IRS tax regulations often do not include a reference to the pertinent CFR title (title 26). The CFR title number is replaced with "Treas. Reg."

      

    Citation, Tax Regulations

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook T1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ( "Although Department of Treasury regulations are published under title 26 of the C.F.R., cite as <Treas. Reg.>. For unamended regulations, cite to the year of promulgation.  If the regulation is a temporary regulation, indicate such: >Treas. Reg. § 1.72-16(a) (1963).>Temp. Treas. Reg. § 1.338-4T(k) (1985) . . . ")
    • Bluebook R. 14, Administrative and Executive Materials
    • IRM  § 4.10.7.2.3.6, Citing the Regulations ("The first division is the CFR part number and indicates the subject of the regulation. The part number appears before the decimal point in a citation . . .The numbers immediately after the decimal point refer to the Code section to which the regulations apply . . .The section number of the regulation is separated from the Code section by a hyphen . . .")
    • TaxCite, Pt. 1, C.1, Treasury Regulations

        

      Abbreviations, Tax Regulations

      Below are pertinent abbreviations.

      • Code of Federal Regulations=C.F.R. or CFR
      • Federal Register=Fed.Reg.
      • Treasury Decision=T.D. or TD
      • Treasury Regulation=Treas.Reg.
          

        Sources of Tax Regulations

        Below are links to sources offering current regulatory material on tax topics.

        Warning: Some of the sources listed below may also contain superseded regulatory material. Researchers should independently verify the currency of any given regulation.

        Sources of Regulations (Not Specific to Tax)

        Below are links to sources offering current regulatory material--specifically the Code of Federal Regulations and the Federal Register.

        Warning: Some of the sources listed below may also contain superseded regulations. Researchers should independently verify the currency of any given regulation.

        Additional Instruction on Federal Regulatory Research

        Below is a link to a source offering instruction on federal regulatory research:

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip