Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Information Letters" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Information Letters Print Page
  Search: 
 

Information Letter Basics

"An "information letter" is a statement issued either by the Associate office or by a director. It calls attention to a well-established interpretation or principle of tax law (including a tax treaty) without applying it to a specific set of facts. An information letter is advisory only and has no binding effect on the Service. An information lettermay be issued if the taxpayer's inquiry indicates a need for general information or if the taxpayer's request does not meet the requirements for a letter ruling or a determination letter, and the Service thinks general information will help the taxpayer." (Internal Revenue Manual, § 32.3.1.1)

      

    Citation, Information Letters

    The following citation resources may be informative.

    • Bluebook R. 14, Administrative and Executive Materials
    • Bluebook T1.2, Federal Administrative & Executive Materials ("Cite all other Treasury materials, including Delegation Orders (Deleg. Order), Treasury Orders (Treas. Order), Treasury Directives (Treas. Dir.), Notices, Announcements, and News Releases to the Cumulative Bulletin, Internal Revenue Bulletin, or Internal Revenue Manual (IRM), if therein. Otherwise cite by number and date issued.")

     

        

      Sources of Information Letters

      Below are links to select sources offering information letters.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip