Sources of IRCCitation & Abbreviation of IRCSources of Indexes to IRCSources of Historical IRC
Online Collections of Legislative History MaterialsPrint Collections of Legislative History MaterialsCompiled Legislative HistoriesLegislative ProcessBillsHearingsCommittee ReportsJCT Publications (Including Bluebooks)Floor DebatesHistorical Tax LawsInstruction on Tax Legislative History Research
Proposed RegulationsCurrent RegulationsHistorical RegulationsPreamblesIndexes to RegulationsTreasury Decisions
Online Collections of Tax Case LawTax Case Law ReportersCitation & Abbreviation of Tax Case LawMemorandum Decisions
Online Collections of IRS DocumentsInternal Revenue Bulletin & Cumulative BulletinRevenue RulingsRevenue ProceduresLetter RulingsTechnical Advice MemorandaActions on Decisions/ Notices of AcquiescenceAnnouncementsNoticesPublicationsInternal Revenue ManualChief Counsel Advice & Other MaterialsField Service AdviceGeneral Counsel MemorandaTreasury DecisionsNews ReleasesInformation LettersIRS FormsOffice Memorandums
Strategies for Searching for Tax ArticlesOnline Collections of Tax and Other Legal ArticlesTax Journals & Current Awareness ServicesTax Articles Indexes & Legal Article Indexes
IRS & Other Govt WebsitesTax Research Websites & PortalsOrganization Websites
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook GuidesBNA Portfolios & Tax Notes
This is the "Get Help from Reference Librarians" page of the "Federal Tax Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Federal Tax Research  

This guide provides information on federal tax law and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Sep 11, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=271175 Print Guide RSS Updates

Get Help from Reference Librarians Print Page
  Search: 
 

Get Help From Reference Librarians

Ask for assistance early and often at the Reference Desk in the Main Reading Room. Librarians can:

  • Suggest a strategy if you don't know where to start.
  • Help you decipher an abbreviation, using abbreviations dictionaries such as Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations or others.
  • Advise you on hard-to-locate sources. 
  • Confirm that you have exhausted all possible Library and publicly available resources. 
  • Give you a pass to certain local libraries (required for most academic libraries). Note: You usually will not have check-out privileges at libraries if you are given such a pass.

Articles Editors: The Reference Desk can provide time-saving assistance in advance for especially difficult articles. Please contact Jay Shuman at least one week before distributing the assignment.

      

    Get Help From Reference Librarians

    The Law Library Reference Desk (in Main Reading Room) is staffed by a rotation of eight librarians, and the librarian who assisted with a footnote at a first stage edit may not be there when you bring the same footnote to the Desk at a later stage. Sharing information saves time and avoids frustration. If possible, bring the complete article text and footnotes when you come to the Library. Context often helps to identify a source, and text and footnotes not assigned to you may be helpful for your footnotes.

    Reference Desk Services Hours: Monday-Thursday, 9:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m.;  Friday, 9:00 a.m.-5:00 p.m.; Saturday-Sunday, 11:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m.

     

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip