Finding a Specific JournalPrint & EJournalsLists of Legal Journals
LegalInterdisciplinaryForeign & InternationalFinding More DatabasesWebsites
Finding Strategies & Notes for Cite CheckersCore Newspapers DatabasesLinks to Major NewspapersDigitized & Print NewspapersHistorical Newspapers DatabasesLegal & International Newspapers
Author/ Article MetricsJournal MetricsMetrics in Legal Academy
By TopicBy CitationIn PDF
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook Guides
PublicationsDatabasesResearch Guides & Citation
This is the "Print & EJournals" page of the "Finding Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles  

This guide informs on finding articles and covers legal and interdisciplinary databases, newspapers and working papers.
Last Updated: Dec 1, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/articles Print Guide RSS Updates

Print & EJournals Print Page
  Search: 
 

Print Journals in the Law Library

Looking for a journal in print in the Law Library? While the Library is owning more and more journals only online, there are still print journals in the Library, particularly those are not available via Library databases.

  • Search the Julius (Law Library's catalog) by the journal title, e.g. "Yale Law Journal," To determine if the Library owns the journal in print and if so, to get its call number and library location (e.g. Bound Periodicals or Bound Periodicals 2)
  • Generic law reviews (i.e., those journals not dedicated to a specific topic) are usually assigned Library of Congress call numbers beginning K1 through K29, and are often shelved in the Bound Periodicals room on the Balcony under Sullivan Street.
  • The vast majority of other journals, usually ones dedicated to a specific topic or area of law, are assigned Library of Congress call numbers other than K1-K29, and are shelved in Bound Periodicals 2, located on the B1 level. 
  • Recent, unbound (paperback) issues of all journals are shelved in B2 South, at the same call number as the bound volumes.

Law Library doesn't have the journal you need in print? Click here for strategies.

      

    EJournals

    More and more of the journals in the Library's collection are online only. To find a specific ejournal, you have several options listed below.

    • Use e-Journal Finder to Find a Specific Journal: From the main Library research page under "Find Journal and Articles," (or from the tool below), type all or part of the name of the journal in the journal title field. This search will provide you with links to NYU databases offering the journal (and years of database coverage) as well as available print and film holdings. Note: Bobst's print holdings for journals and journals available on Lexis are not reported. 
    • Search Database Directly: If you know that a database offers a particular journal, you can link to that database by typing in the database name on the main Library research page.
    • Search Julius: You could also search Julius, Law Library's catalog for the journal title. The Library's online subscriptions to that journal will appear in the results, but the records do not report on years of coverage.
        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip