About the Court
Duncan Alford's Globalex guide "Update: European Union Legal Materials: An Infrequent User's Guide" has a very helpful description of the composition, functions and languages of the Court.
Website of the Courts includes:
- The Court of Justice and General Court links lead to the texts of rules of procedure, statistics and information about the composition and members of the court.
- Annual Report. The historical section link has extracts from earlier annual reports.
See also [Report of Proceedings (year):]Synopsis of the Work of the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance of the European Communities. Compact Shelves KE-E6 1S9.
- Institutions--Publications and Multimedia--Legal publications contains bibliographies, the case-law digest and other tools for identifying cases.
- Library: Important links for finding national implementation, etc.
- The Home page has a Calendar and Press Releases of the Court.
Reports (paper & online) & citation
NOTE: Cases starting with 2012 cannot be cited to the print reports because they ceased publication after 2011. Cases starting with 2012 should be cited to the Court's websitehttp://curia.europa.eu/jcms/jcms/T5_5123/, 1954-current. (For cases starting with 1973, search by full text, document number of CELEX number.)
Final paper issues:
Series I, Court of Justice: 2011 v.12C
Series II, General Court (formerly the Court of First Instance): 2011 v.11/12
Series III, Staff Cases: 2009
Advocate General opinions are also included in the Reports.
CITATION: The Bluebook, 20th ed., does not note that the Reports ceased to be published in paper. Rule 21.5.2 permits you to cite to Curia, another database or a commercial publication. The 19th edition also does not cover the addition of the ECLI to the citation format (described below) .
ECLI: The Court's citation method now includes a neutral European Case-Law Identifier (ECLI),
for example, ECLI:EU:C:2013:852 indicates the 852d decision delivered by the EU Court of Justice in 2013.
See the Court's explanation of the new citation method and this post by Alison Shea.
All cases with their ECLI are listed here.
Citation of judgments, Bluebook example (without the ECLI):
C-18/95, Terhoeve v. Inspecteur,  E.C.R. I-348. This case is published in the 1999 Reports of Cases Before the Court, Section I, at p. 348.
OFFICIAL REPORTS in paper:
E.C.R. Reports of Cases Before the Court and the General Court
Former titles: Reports of Cases Before the Court, and Reports of Cases Before the Court of Justice and the Court of First Instance.
Starting in 1990, the ECR was divided into Section I, Court of Justice, and Section II, General Court (formerly the Court of First Instance).
KJE924 .5 R468: 1954/56 - 2009 section I
KJE924 .5 R47: 2009 section II - 2011 volume 11/12
ECR Section III: E.C.R.-S.C. European Court Reports. Reports of European Community Staff Cases, 1994-2009 (the Law Library does not own the 2007-2009 volumes). Compact Shelves KJE924.5 E97x
The Official Journal of the European Union publishes the operative portion of judgments and interim orders (subject to a contrary decision of the Court) and lists of new and closed cases.
The Annual Report of the Court summarizes the cases.
Proceedings of the Court... was a newsletter that contained notices of cases filed and summaries of new judgments. Compact Shelves KJD924.3 .P76
Curia website of the Court , 1954-current. For cases starting with 1973, search by full text, document number of CELEX number.
EUR-Lex: Access to European Union Law: Case-law
NOTE: WestlawNext and LexisNexis/Lexis.com require passwords.
Westlaw Next > International Materials > European Union
Lexis.com Log in to Lexis Advance, then select Lexis.com from the red Research tab (top left).
Source > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources > European Union
LexisNexis Academic > International Legal tab > EU, Commonwealth & Other Nations > EUR-Lex European Union Cases
OTHER PRINT REPORTERS
Common Market Law Reports, 1962-.
Compact Shelves NYUL KE-E6 5C65
WestlawNext: All Content: International Materials: United Kingdom Cases
C.M.L.R. Antitrust Reports, 1991-.
Compact Shelves NYUL KE-E6 5C65
European Community Cases, 1989-2007.
Compact Shelves NYUL KE-E1 C63 C6 C2
European Current Law, 1992-. Monthly digest of legislation and cases. Cumulated in European Current Law Yearbook.
B2 North KJC30 .E96
Finding cases on a topic
Curia website of the Court
For the advanced search screen (search by Advocate-General, procedure, etc.), click on the magnifying glass icon next to the Search button on the simple search screen.
Curia tools for finding case by number, legal topics, etc.:
Numerical Access (by case number)
Digest of the Case-law (a subject listing of the summaries of judgments and orders)
Alphabetical table of the subject matter (a list of the legal issues)
Annotation of judgments (a list of "notes de doctrine," articles commenting on the cases)
ECJ Press Releases
EUR-Lex: Access to European Union Law: Case-Law In addition to the judgment, the EUR-Lex page for a case also includes a list of cases affected by/cases citing the original case (tab: Linked documents).
Tax cases in IBFD Case Law. The filters include legal basis (directives, etc.) and justification (legal concept behind the decision).
NOTE: Westlaw, WestlawNext and LexisNexis require passwords. LexisNexis Academic, which may be available in libraries that subscribe to it, has EU materials under the International Legal tab.
EU-CS, full text 1954-.
find 1987 E.C.R. 3203 (eu)
find eu: case 281/85
All Content: International Materials: European Union Materials: Cases
EURCOM;ECJ, full text 1954-
EUROPE;ECCASE (reports as published in non EU reporters)
FINDING CASE LAW ON SPECIFIC TOPICS:
European Trade Mark Reports. Selected cases from the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (OHIM), the General Court (attached to the European Court of Justice), the ECJ, CTM designated courts in the Member States, and other domestic courts.
Compact Shelves KJE2768.A7 E97x
Also in WESTLAW. For the OHIM, General Court, ECJ, and CTM cases, see also the OHIM trademark page(click on Case-law).
EU Private International Law: An ECJ Casebook(2012).
Interpretation of Fundamental Rights in a Multilevel Legal System: An Analysis of the European Court of Human Rights and the Court of Justice of the European Union (2011). B2North KJC5138 .S46 2011