This guide covers essential EU law-related sources in print and online. Links go to online sources or to more information about print sources owned by the NYU Law Library.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2017
- N-Lex, a common gateway to National law
Search an individual country or use the multi-database search to search multiple countries at once.
- National transposition search engine, EUR-Lex
Find your directive through EUR-Lex or the Directory of European Union Legislation in Force (link below), then click on the National transposition tab for citations to any national implementation measures.
- Search strategies for finding national transposition measures, EUR-Lex
- EUROVOC, the EU's multilingual thesaurus
Use EUROVOC to find EU terminology in the different EU languages for use in searching N-Lex and other databases.
- Directory of European Union Legislation in Force
Find your directive through EUR-Lex (link above) or the Directory of European Union Legislation in Force, then click on the National transposition tab for citations to any national implementation measures.
- Foreign Law by Jurisdiction, NYU Law Library
- National case-law search engine, EUR-Lex
Search for EU-related case law from EU Member States, Canada, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland, the EFTA, and the European Court of Human Rights.
- National case-law database, Library, Court of Justice of the European Union
International Materials >European Union. Find your directive, then click National measures.
- European Current Law
Monthly digest of legislation and cases. Cumulated in European Current Law Yearbook.
- JURE– Jurisdiction, recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters, EUR-Lex
Cases on the Brussels Convention, Lugano Conventions and Brussels Regulations.
- IPEX, the platform for EU Interparliamentary exchange
Includes opinions from parliaments about draft EU legislation.
- COSAC, Conference of Parliamentary Committees for Union Affairs of Parliaments of the European Union
- Case law database, Associations of Councils of State and Supreme Administrative Jurisdictions of the European Union (ACA-Europe)
Search for cases on EU treaties, legislation, etc. Results provide citations to sources, but not full text. Also includes commentary on some cases.
- European eJustice Portal, Europa
Provides information on justice systems and access to justice throughout the EU, in 23 languages.
For commentary and analysis on national implementation of EU law, search the Law Library's JULIUS catalog with keywords such as legislation, implementation, transposition, and/or directive, and a keyword for your topic, plus europ* or EU. Below are a few examples.