This guide provides information on online resources beyond Westlaw and Lexis, and identifies pertinent resources available through the NYU Law Library
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2017
When a law is passed, Congress grants federal agencies the authority to promulgate rules and regulations to interpret the law. These regulations have the force and effect of law. The federal rules and regulations are first published, chronologically, in the Federal Register. The Code of Federal Regulations codifies the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register. Below are links to both the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations. For a more detailed description of the regulatory process, see A Guide to the U.S. Federal Legal System.
- Code of Federal Regulations, FDsys Website
Contains the CFR annual editions from 1996-present. The CFR is the codification of general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register.
- Code of Federal Regulations, LII Website
- e-CFR, FDsys Website
Updated regularly. This is not an official, legal edition of the CFR, but is an editorial compilation of CFR and Federal Register materials.
- Federal Register, FDsys Website
The FR publishes the federal rules, regulations and notices from agencies and organizations in chronological order. This site contains the FR from 1994-present.
- Federal Register, Office of the Federal Register Website
Joint partnership between the Office of the Federal Register and the GPO, this is an unofficial, easier to read format of the daily Federal Register.
- Federal Register Annual Index, LLMC Website
The Index provides descriptive entries and page numbers for documents published in that year. The LLMC website contains Indexes for the years 1938-1998.
- Federal Register Annual Index, National Archives Website
Contains Indexes from 1994-present.
- Federal Register Library, HeinOnline
- Regulatory Search, Bloomberg Law
The following links provide information on the administrative agencies and directories of personnel.
There are a wide variety of Presidential or Executive documents available online, including: executive orders, proclamations, directives, memoranda, determinations, letters, and speeches. Below are links to these resources.