Federal OpinionsState Opinions
Federal Legislation SourcesState Legislation Sources
This is the "Federal Opinions" page of the "Beyond Westlaw and Lexis for Online Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Beyond Westlaw and Lexis for Online Research  

This guide provides information on online resources beyond Westlaw and Lexis, and identifies pertinent resources available through the NYU Law Library
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/content.php?pid=387269 Print Guide RSS Updates

Federal Opinions Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding U.S. Supreme Court Opinions

There are several low and no cost options for finding Supreme Court opinions.  These sites vary in coverage and search capabilities.  Remember that it is important to update case law to ensure it is still good law, some sites may not be comprehensive. For guidance in general case law research, please visit the Case Law Research Guide.

  • Cases and Codes, Findlaw Website
    Contains a searchable database of Supreme Court opinions since 1893 and an archive of opinion summaries from 2000-present. These are not pdf versions.
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar has added legal opinions to its offerings, including Supreme Court opinions since 1791.
  • Public Library of Law Website
    Free online access (requires registration). Powered by Fastcase, provides access to Supreme Court opinions from 1754 to present.
  • Supreme Court Collection, LII Website
    Contains current Supreme Court decisions since 1990 and select historic decisions. Allows searching by party name, topic, and author.
  • Supreme Court Library, HeinOnline
    The site offers a pdf library of the official U.S. Reports, Preliminary Prints, and Slip Opinions of the Supreme Court.
  • Supreme Court of the United States Website
    This is the Court's official Web site. It can be searched by using a Supreme Court docket number, a lower court docket number, or a case name. The site offers electronic versions of the bound volumes of the U.S. Reports (vo. 502 - 552) and pdfs of opinions from the 2007 term to current term.
  • United States Reports, OpenJurist Website
    Contains United States Supreme Court Opinions, 1790-

Finding Other Federal Court Opinions

There are not as many low and no cost options for U.S. District Court and Court of Appeals cases, but below are links to some of the sites that provide access to these materials.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip