This guide provides information on online resources beyond Westlaw and Lexis, and identifies pertinent resources available through the NYU Law Library
Last Updated: Sep 29, 2017
The resources listed below provide access to Congressional documents.
- Congressional Bills, FDsys Website
Contains bills from 1993-present.
- Congressional Publications, ProQuest Congressional
Includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, financial data, and the full-text of regulatory and statutory resources - bills, laws, debates, hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, legislative histories, federal regulations.
- Legislation, Library of Congress Website
Includes Bill Summary & Status (1973 - present); Bills - Full Text (1989-present); Congressional Record (1989-present), among other documents and publications.
- Legislative Search, Bloomberg Law
- U.S. Congressional Documents, HeinOnline
Includes the "Congressional Record, Congressional Globe, Annals of Congress, American State Papers, and the Journals of the Continental Congress."
For historical information about legislation, the following resources may be consulted.
- Century of Lawmaking, American Memory Website
U.S. Congressional documents from 1774-1875.
- Government Publications, FDsys Website
Contains Congressional Hearings, Congressional Records, Congressional Reports, and History of Bills, among other publications. Dates of coverage vary.
- House and Senate Journals, Archive of Americana
Includes House and Senate Journals from 1789-1817 and Senate Executive Journals from 1789-1980.
- Legislative Histories, ProQuest Congressional
- Legislative Histories of Select U.S. Laws, LLSDC Website
- U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, HeinOnline