This guide provides information on Empirical Legal Research, and identifies pertinent print and online resources available through the NYU Law Library
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017
Many governmental agencies collect and maintain statistical information on a wide variety of topics such as crime, economics, labor, and vital statistics. There are a number of websites that provide access to the data sets and statistics collected by the government. Below are links to a select number of data sets available on the web. This is not meant to be an exhaustive list.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce Website
"BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable [researchers] to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public."
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, Department of Labor Website
Includes data on employment, inflation, workplace injuries and other labor-related topics.
- Congressional Bill Status in Bulk, GovInfo Website
Provides bill statuses in XML format available through the bulk data repository for the 113th and 114th Congresses.
- Data Access, U.S. Census Bureau Website
The Census Bureau provides data about the nation's people and economy - including education, housing and population.
- Data.gov, U.S. Government Website
"The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."
- Data and Statistics, USA.gov Website
Includes links to a number of data sources by topic.
- Data Sets, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development Website
"HUD USER provides interested researchers with access to the original data sets generated by PD&R-sponsored data collection efforts, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population."
- Envirofacts, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Website
Provides data on a variety of environmental issues including water, air, hazardous waste and compliance.
- Historical Statistics of the U.S., ProQuest Congressional
Includes information from colonial times to 1957.
- TracFed, Syracuse University Website
The TRACFed data warehouse includes among its many offerings transactional data from the US Federal government concerning its enforcement and prosecution activities, staffing, federal expenditures, and more.
- SEC Securities Enforcement Empirical Database,Pollack Center