This guide lists essential sources for researching general aspects of international law. For specialized topics, such as human rights or international arbitration, see the guide International Law: Specialized Sources.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2017
Getting started--classics, etc.
Books, working papers, etc.
Law reviews, journals, articles
News, blogs & paper/note topics
Abbreviation dictionaries/citation manuals
Westlaw, LexisAdvance, HeinOnline, & Bloomberg Law
Other research guides
International Law: Specialized Sources
Sources, I.C.J. Statute, U.N. Charter
United States treaties
Customary IL & state practice
Teachings of the publicists
Expert & scholarly organizations
No single reporter or source contains all international cases and awards.The general sources listed below are in addition to specialized sources for specific courts, tribunals or topics that are listed in other parts of this research guide and in the guide International Law: Specialized Sources.
Books, working papers, etc. and law reviews, journals, articles on your topic might cite relevant cases or awards. See also Practice of international law by other countries (yearbooks, etc.).
For the titles of a country's case reporters and similar publications, consult the Bluebook or another citation manual. See also Foreign Law by Jurisdiction, NYU Law Library.
How to Find Cases in English Translation, Revisited, Lyonette Louis-Jacques
I.C.J. and P.C.I.J.
U.S. cases on international law
- ILR, International Law Reports, selected cases, 1950-, Justis
Click Sign in on upper right, then Cases>Data sources>International Law Reports.
- ILR, International Law Reports
- Annual Digest and Reports of Public International Law Cases, 1919/22-1949.
- Oxford Reports on International Law
Browse International Materials.
- Lexis Advance
The "International" tab has foreign law materials for selected countries.
- International Law in Domestic Courts, ORIL, Oxford Reports on International Law
- International Courts of General Jurisdiction, ORIL, Oxford Reports on International Law
- ALR International
U.S. and foreign cases. Searchable in Westlaw, but full text annotations are not accessible to academic Westlaw users.
- ILM, International Legal Materials, HeinOnline
Selected new treaties, laws, cases, etc., 1962-. Also available in print and in Westlaw, 1980-, and Lexis Advance>Research tab>Lexis.com, 1962-current.
- International Tax Law Reports (ITLR), Lexis Library
- Global Community: Yearbook of International Law and Jurisprudence
- International Labor Rights Case Law
- Judicial Decisions on the Law of International Organizations, Oxford Public International Law
- Landmark Cases in Public International Law
- Manual on International Courts and Tribunals
- The Rules, Practice, and Jurisprudence of International Courts and Tribunals
- United Nations Audiovisual Library: Jurisprudence
Websites of UN and other international, regional and national courts, and tools for case law research.
- Oxford Law Citator
Cross-references both within OUP's online products and to other websites.
Use JustCite to find cases by name, keywords, etc.; find out if cases are still "good law"; and find out the status of legislation. JustCite maps the relationship between cases and also cross-references case law, legislation and journal articles from the UK, the EU, Australia, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Ireland, Jamaica, Singapore, South Africa, and the U.S. JustCite indexes content from all major legal publishers including JUSTIS, WESTLAW, LexisNexis, Oxford University Press, HeinOnline (journals only), and more. If the library subscribes to the material online, JustCite will also link to the full text.
- LawCite, AustLII
Provides citation history of court decisions from 75 countries, law journal articles, law reform documents, and treaties. Emphasis is on common law jurisdictions. Read the Help screen to see how Austlii differs from Keycite and Shepards.
- RefLex, CanLII
The RefLex citator cross-links material within CanLII, the free database for Canadian legal materials, and provides citations to sources for materials cited, but not available in, CanLII.
- Use your case name as a keyword to search in full-text databases of case law for additional cases that have cited to the case that you started with.