Status of the WTO AgreementsCitation of the WTO agreementsAdditional sources of the WTO agreements & other trade agreements
GATT and early WTO documents, 1946-1997WTO documents, 1995-present
Citing the dispute settlement reportsDocuments from dispute settlements (submissions)Finding disputes by topic, article number, etc.Selected books about dispute settlement
Citation to official U.S. sourcesGovernment websites, etc.U.S. legislative history
This is the "GATT and early WTO documents, 1946-1997" page of the "WTO/GATT Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WTO/GATT Research   Tags: foreign & international law, international law  

This guide presents the essential sources for researching the former GATT and the current system under the Uruguay Round agreements and the World Trade Organization. NOTE: Main tabs list general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/wto_gatt Print Guide RSS Updates

GATT and early WTO documents, 1946-1997 Print Page
  Search: 
 

BISD

BISD. Basic Instruments and Selected Documents and BISD Supplements. Geneva: Contracting Parties to the GATT, 1952-98 (covering 1947-95). Compact Shelves NYUL KE G35 C65 B2

BISD is the official compilation of documents in hardcopy, but it contains only selected documents. This first series of BISD covers 1947-1995. After the first four volumes in this series, all volumes were called supplements. The citation 42S/38 means supplement 42, at page 38. The subject index at the back of supplement 42 covers all the supplements. This series of BISD is searchable on a cdrom at Circulation NYUL KE G35 C65 B2 and also in LexisNexis Intl Law>Treaties & Intl Agreements>GATT Basic Instruments and Selected Documents.
      

    Microfiche GATT/WTO Documents

    Microfiche GATT/WTO Documents. Geneva: WTO, 1947-96. This very large collection of microfiche documents covers from the negotiation of the GATT and the Havana Charter through 1996. It has very few Uruguay Round (MTN/...) documents; instead search in the Documents Online http://docsonline.wto.org  (use Advanced Search and type UR in the Collection field), or the Stanford GATT Digital Library: 1947-94 http://gatt.stanford.edu/page/home. The fiche is accessible via a hardcopy index of subjects, document symbols, product names, country names, and articles of the agreements. The fiche and the index are located in the Media Center.

        

      GATT Documents 1946-1997, including Uruguay Round, 1986-1994

      GATT Documents 1946-1997
      http://www.wto.org/english/docs_e/gattdocs_e.htm

      This page includes GATT official documents, 1946-97. Browse the documents by document symbol or date, or browse all the documents (open the catalogue file/list of dates and document titles and do a Ctrl-F search for keyword in title). 

      For more Uruguay Round documents:
      Stanford GATT Digital Library: 1947-1994 http://gatt.stanford.edu/page/home 
      Documents Online, 1985-1997 http://docsonline.wto.org (browse re a particular subject area and year or use Advanced Search and type UR in the Collection field).

          

        GATT Digital Library: 1947-94

        GATT Digital Library: 1947-94 http://gatt.stanford.edu/page/home

        Stanford University Libraries. Search, browse, view, and download from this collection of over 59,000 documents and publications of the GATT from 1947-1994. At this time, most of the documents are in English. Search full text, title, date, and document symbol. Searching, viewing and downloading are free of charge. The GATT Documents pagehttp://www.wto.org/english/docs_e/gattdocs_e.htm also has link to the Stanford documents.

            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip