This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017
- The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation.
The tables in the Bluebook provide abbreviations and full titles for U.S., non-U.S and international legal sources: Rules 20 (foreign) and 21(IGOs), Tables T2 (foreign), T3 (international), T4 (treaties), T5 (arbitration), T10 (geographical terms), T13 (words in periodical titles). Latest edition available at the Circulation Desk.
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
Covers abbreviations for English language legal publications from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law, and a wide selection of major foreign language law publications.
- IATE (InterActive Terminology for Europe, formerly Eurodicautom), Europa
- Index to Legal Citations and Abbreviations
By Donald Raistrick. Covers publications from the UK, Ireland and the U.S., with some coverage of the countries of the EU, Europe, Africa, Asia, and South America.
- Law Faculty of the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium. Afkortingenlijst voor Belgische tijdschriften
For Western European legal abbreviations. Aso includes links to other online legal abbreviation tools.
- Noble's Revised International Guide to the Law Reports
Alphabetical list of abbreviations for reporters. Provides full title, jurisdiction, dates, and some alternate citations.
- NYU JILP Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations
Covers 45 countries, including Singapore, Sharia law and some international organizations and tribunals. For each country, it presents a Country Profile, titles of the major legal sources and citation/abbreviation as practiced in the jurisdiction.
- OSCOLA, The Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities
- Oxford Language Dictionaries
There are also foreign language dictionaries and legal dictionaries at the Reference Desk.
- Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations: A Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students
By Mary Miles Prince. Dictionary of abbreviations used in legal literature in the U.S., U.K. and other jurisdictions. Also contains a reverse dictionary (from full title/word to abbreviation).
- Washington University Global Studies Law Review. International Citation Manual
Background on and description of the legal system and branches of government, suggested sources and citation formats, plus a list of other guides to the country's legal sources.
- World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations
By Igor I. Kavass & Mary Miles Prince.