This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2017
- Base Pacte
Contains all French multilateral and bilateral treaties and agreements in French
- Conseil Constitutionnel (Constitutional Council)
See full text Decisions du Conseil Constitutionnel (Constitutional Council) as well as the doctrine involved. Constitutional cases in English in relevant areas such as treaties and international agreements, EU, abortion, human rights, etc.
Database of codes, legal journals, encyclopedias, legal commentaries, cases (all courts). Click on key icon and scroll to Dalloz for login information.
An index to French legal literature prepared by the law firms of Berlioz, Shearman & Sterling.
- Gazette du Palais l'actualite du droit
Legal news. Fil du Net publishes legislative news with links to the original documents.
Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of France. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.
- IATE - InterActive Terminology for Europe
The EU's inter-institutional terminology database and translator.
- Institute of Transnational Law - Foreign Law Translations
Includes English translations of legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.
An index to daily changes to the laws. Includes French legal news. It provides cyberspace laws in French for the Canadian and French jurisdictions. Cases summaries (French and Canadian) pertaining to the law of the Internet.
- Jurisprudence - Legalis
Protection des droits de propriété intellectuelle, contrefaçons, règlement des litiges et arbitrage sur Internet (copyright issues).
- Le Journal Officiel
Sommaires Analytiques for the last five days. The site makes available a graphic reproduction of the Lois and Decretes (TIFF images).
The governmental portal to French law on the Internet, with a very user-friendly access to the legislation, regulations and case law, directly or through many links to other public websites such as the Parliament, the Court of Appeal or the State Council. Translations of French acts is one of the features of Legifrance. At the beginning, thirty codes are offered in English and in Spanish; many other translated codes and statutes will follow.
Legislation, jurisprudence, collected conventions.
- Legislationline, OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights
Contains English translations of France's constitution, criminal code, code of criminal procedure, and variety of human rights oriented legislation.
- Lex Electronica
An online journal about the laws of the electronic environment in French and English.
- Ministère de la Justice (Ministry of Justice)
Database contains all legal news and has an excellent legal dictionary (glossaire juridique).
- RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law
Use the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries arranged in alphabetic order. Includes the full text of the tax and commercial law of France in English.
Administrative database. The official gateway to the French civil service. The site has practical guides classified by theme, a civil service directory and public web sites directories, links to texts of laws, and public reports. Interfaces in German, English, and Spanish.
Contains legislative and regulatory codes, collective bargaining agreements and case law.
- Westlaw, International Materials
Contains English translations of the Civil and Commercial Codes.
Materials will be located in B2 North (map) and Reserve, with call numbers beginning with KJV and KJW (individual regions).