This guide lists essential print and online sources for researching foreign law. NOTE: First 4 tabs list important general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Jul 26, 2017
- Corte Costituzionale (Constitutional Court)
Also available in English.
- Diritto & Diritti - Rivista Giuridica On Line - The Electronic Law Review
Contains legal literature by subject of law.
- Edicola Professionale
NYU Law's subscription to Edicola Professionale includes full-text access to the last year of Giurisprudenza Italiana, Rivista di Diritto Civile, Rivista Di Diritto Processuale and Rivista di Diritto Internazionale Privato e Processuale. These titles often include summaries of recent legal decisions, and sometimes also publish the full-text of the case itself.
Click on the key icon for password, then scroll down to Edicola Professionale.
- Giurisprudenza Italiana
Authoritative, citable monthly journal that contains the full-text of decisions and/or case summaries from a variety of Italian courts.
NYU Law has electronic access via Edicola Professionale to the most recent year's issues. The library also has this title in print.
Click on the key icon for password, then scroll down to Edicola Professionale. Then, click on Giurisprudenza Italiana.
- Giustizia.it - Centro Elettronico di Documentazione
Contains laws, decrees, normative acts, cases.
Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Italy. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.
Free bibliographic database for Italian business law. Meaning, that the user can access citations to relevant material, but not the full-text itself. Search available in six languages, including English.
- Le Riviste Database (Casalini)
Offers bibliographical coverage of titles published in Italy, the Vatican City, the Republic of San Marino, the Italian canton of Switzerland, and Malta. Tables of Contents (ToC) and Full Text are available for selected titles.
The portal of Italian laws.
- Parlamento Italiano. Camera dei Deputati; Senato della Republica
Full text of laws from 1996-present.
- RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law
Use the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries arranged in alphabetic order. Includes the full text of the tax and commercial law of Italy in English.
- Studio Cataldi
A legal magazine that now has around 1,500,000 page views per month and 99,000 newsletter subscribers. Links to the main codes online.
- Torrossa: Casalini Full Text
Among other subjects, contains full-text access to over 330 Italian legal books and journals, from a variety of publishers. To see which legal titles this subscription includes, click on advanced search, check law and then hit search.
Contains codes, official gazette, case law, and excellent secondary materials, including the Commented Codes.
Materials will be located in B2 North (map), with call numbers beginning with KKH.