This guide lists essential sources for specialized areas of international law.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2017
Books, working papers, etc.
Law reviews, journals, articles.
- UPDATE: International Criminal Courts for the Former Yugoslavia, Rwanda and Sierra Leone - A Guide to Online and Print Resources, GlobaLex
By Amy Burchfield. Updated by Andrew Dorchak.
- Research guide: UN Documentation: International Law: Courts and Tribunals
- Research guide: International Criminal Law, New England Law/Boston Law Library
- Research guide: ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Criminal Law
By Gail Partin.
- Accountability for Human Rights Atrocities in International Law: Beyond the Nuremberg Legacy
By Steven R. Ratner, et al.
- Case Law Database, United Nations Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals
Access to key judgments of the ICTR, ICTY, and MICT Appeals Chambers from inception to Dec. 31, 2016. Search by notions (topics), cases names, titles of filings, date, statutes, rules, and other instruments.
- Cassese's International Criminal Law
- Crimes Against Humanity: Historical Evolution and Contemporary Application
By M. Cherif Bassiouni.
- Extradition To and From the United States
By Michael Abbell.
- General Principles of Law in the Decisions of International Criminal Courts and Tribunals
- Human Rights and International Criminal Law, American Society of International Law
- International Extradition: United States Law and Practice
By M. Cherif Bassiouni.
- International Prisoner Transfer
By Michael Abbell.
- International Tribunals Web Archive, Library of Congress
An archive of websites that host information about the most important international tribunals created since World War II.
- Obtaining Evidence Abroad in Criminal Cases
- Oxford Companion to International Criminal Justice
Ed. Antonio Cassese.
- Laws on Extradition of Citizens, Law Library of Congress Legal Reports
- War Crimes Prosecution Watch, Public International Law & Policy Group and the Frederick K. Cox International Law Center, Case Western Reserve University School of Law.
See also Case law/jurisprudence in the International Law research guide, and the tabs for specific tribunals under the main International criminal law tab above.
For the broadest research, it is suggested that you repeat you searches in all three databases listed below, Westlaw, Lexis Advance and LLMC Digital.
- Research guide: Military Law, Univ. of Iowa Law Library
- Research guide: National Security Law: Courts, Military Tribunals, and Case Law, Georgetown Law Library
This excellent guide lists the tribunals and dates covered by the various military justice reporters listed below.
- West's Military Justice Reporter, 1975-
- Court-Martial Reports: Holdings and Decisions of the Judge Advocate General, Boards of Review, and United States Court of Military Appeals, 1951-1975
- Court-Martial Reports: Holdings and Opinions of the Judge Advocate General, Judicial Council and Boards of Review, Air Force, 1948-1951
- Decisions of the United States Court of Military Appeals, 1951-1975
- LLMC: JAG & Misc. Quasi-Judicial Decisions, LLMC Digital Military Law Collection
Good for pre-1951 material, this LLMC collection also contains the Court-Martial Reports, 1951-1975, other court-martial opinions, digests of opinions (in Digests and the earlier JAG Army Bulletin), and selected military laws, manuals, regulations, periodicals, and theses. It contains the Court-Martial Reports (CMR), but not West's Military Justice Reporter. To do a full-text search of some or all of these materials, go to LLMC Digital and follow this path: Search Collections>Special Focus Collections>Military Law Collection.
Covers the tribunals reported in the Court-Martial Reports and the West's Military Justice Reporter. For the broadest search, choose Content as follows: Practice Areas>Military Law>Military Law Cases. This content will include the Federal District & Appellate Courts and the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, as well as the military courts. This Practice Area also has selected statutes, regulations and other administrative materials, and secondary sources.
- Westlaw Digest Topic & Key Number searches
Search the West Digest online to find cases within West's subject outline of case law. Go to Key Numbers on the Westlaw main page and choose a topic and key number, for example, Armed Services, Military Justice or War and National Emergency. Build a search using a topic and key number and your specific search terms. Example: 258Ak655 AND "flight arrangements" (topic 258A is Military Justice and key number 655 is desertion...).
- Lexis Advance
Practice area--Military & Veterans Law--Cases. This Practice Area also has selected statutes, regulations and other administrative materials, and secondary sources.