Strategies & Other Research GuidesEBook CollectionsEbook Collections for Historical Books
Dictionaries: Legal, Foreign & AbbreviationsEncyclopedias & ALRsRestatements
A-BCD-GH-IJ-MN-RS-ZOther Treatise Finders
PublicationsDatabasesResearch Guides & Citation
Get Help from Reference LibrariansHard-to-Find and Cite-SourcesLaw Library LogisticsBluebook Guides
This is the "Tips for Searching Julius" page of the "Books, Book Chapters & Book Reviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Books, Book Chapters & Book Reviews  

Last Updated: Oct 19, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/books Print Guide RSS Updates

Tips for Searching Julius Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching Julius

Julius is NYU Law Library's online catalog.

  • Julius Records: Julius contains records for many of the NYU Law Library's print and online holdings, including books, databases, microforms, journals, and so on. There are no records in Julius for articles. For information on finding articles, go here. 
  • Search Fields: Julius can be searched by author, title, author/title, keyword, subject and so on. Search fields are available from a pull-down bar as well from links on the black banner at the top of the Julius page. See the illustration to the right.
  • Keyword vs. Subject Search: Keyword and subject searches are different. Julius's subject field correlates to specific subject headings. Generally, for broad subject searches, keyword searches are preferable, as it draws from a range of Julius fields. However, a pertinent subject heading--if known--can be an efficient method to locate relevant materials.
  • Title & Author Searches: When searching by title, do not include colons (even if in the actual title). Author searches must follow this order: last name, first name. 
  • Finding a Specific Volume: If you are searching for a specific volume of a journal or serial (like a reporter), click on the gray bar that reads "View additional copies or search for a specific volume/copy" to see all volumes or search for a particular one.
  • Limiting Results: Too many results from your Julius search? Author and title searches can be limited/sorted by year, library location, and material type. Keyword searches must be manually modified.
  • Course Reserves: On the left-hand navigation bar, you can search for course reserve material by professor or course name. Most course reserve material is held at the Circulation Desk, but always check the specified location for a particular item identified in the Julius record.
  • Information in Julius Records: Julius records provide a variety of information about a library item. For a print record (such as for the print version of a book or journal), this information includes the item's physical location in the library (e.g. Main Reading Room or B1), status (availability), call number, ISBN/ISSN, and subject heading. For online items (e.g., databases, ebooks, but not articles), Julius provides a link to the content.
      
     

    Julius Screen Map

    Renewals & Circulation Records on Julius

    Logging into your Julius account (left-hand navigation bar under "My Julius Account"), allows patrons to check their circulation record and renew items. Once logged in, if you search for an item and find that it is checked out to another patron, you can place a recall for that item.

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip