Federal Tax Research: Online Collections of Legislative History Materials

1954-2002

Click on Research Tools→Federal Research Library→Tax Legislation (under "Browse Documents")→Legislative History (from pull down bar)

Navigate to "Tax Legislation & Analysis" and then to Tax, Bills Reports.

"This historical archive contains . . . legislative history materials and other documents. It includes the complete Carlton Fox Collection which contains nearly 42 years of historical legislation related to the internal revenue laws from 1909-1950. It includes more than 100 other legislative histories related to taxation, economic reform, and stimulus plans. ." (HeinOnline)

Offers legislative history materials include debates (Congressional Record), pubic law, bills, and more.

"Govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."

Offers a range of U.S. legislative history materials including public laws and debates. Some pertinent libraries are "U.S. Congressional Documents," (includes Congressional Record et al.) "U.S. Federal Legislative History Library" and "U.S. Statutes at Large."

Offers wide coverage of legislative history materials including bills, laws, debates, hearings, reports, documents, committee prints, legislative histories, and more. ** FAVORITE SOURCE**

"ProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full- text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws."

Offers access to federal and state legislative history materials.

"This file contains selected House, Senate, and Conference Committee Bills and Reports, as well as Public Laws, of passed legislation which deal with Title 26." (Lexis)