LibGuides: Foreign Law by Jurisdiction: Cayman Islands

Best Bets

CariLaw This link opens in a new window
With exact replica reproductions of the original judgments and indexed and cross-referenced judgments, vLex Justis is an essential resource for Caribbean case law. To search Caribbean content, use the Advance Search to select the relevant jurisdiction(s). n.b. Years of coverage may vary by jurisdiction.

Jurisdiction: Bahamas; Barbados; Bermuda; British Virgin Islands; Cayman Islands; Dominican Republic; Jamaica; Montserrat; Puerto Rico; Saint Lucia; St Kitts and Nevis; St Vincent & the Grenadines; Trinidad and Tobago; Turks and Caicos Islands; Anguilla; Belize; Cuba; Dominica; Grenada; Guyana; Netherlands Antilles

CariLaw This link opens in a new window
With exact replica reproductions of the original judgments and indexed and cross-referenced judgments, vLex Justis is an essential resource for Caribbean case law. To search Caribbean content, use the Advance Search to select the relevant jurisdiction(s).

Consolidated Index of Laws and Subsidiary Legislation
Finding aid for the Gazette. Arranged alphabetically by topic. It also provides Gazette references to the most recent versions of Acts (i.e. Companies Law, the Contracts Law, etc.), which are published in full-text format in the Supplements to the Extraordinary Gazette.
Gazette Office, Cayman Islands Government
Chronicle publication of laws and subsidiary legislation (i.e., regulations). Issues available back to 2008. However, after there has been significant changes to an Act, the amended version of that Act will be published in full as a supplement to the Extraordinary Gazette. Use the Consolidated Index of Laws and Subsidiary Legislation, link listed above, to find full acts, laws and regulations.
IBFD
Use the Country filter on the left to locate Cayman Islands materials. Contains the full-text of some business-oriented legislation. Country Surveys contain summaries and analysis of laws relating to Business and Investment; Corporate Taxation and Individual Taxation.
Regulations
Table of contents lists regulations in alphabetical order. Historical regulations back to 2011 available.
RIA Worldwide Tax and Commercial Law
Use the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries arranged in alphabetic order. Includes the full text of Caymanian tax and commercial law.
Statutes & Court Rules, WestlawNext
Table of contents page lists acts in alphabetic order. Historical acts back to 2011 available.

Legislative Assembly, Cayman Islands Government
Bills, 2007 to present; reports, papers & petitions, 1995-present; motions, 2007 to present; statements, 2007 to present; Hansard reports, 1971 or present; Hansard indexes, 2000-2013/14.

Foreign Law Guide: Countries tab: Cayman Islands, Brill.com
Marci Hoffman, General Ed., University of California, Berkeley Law Library. Describes the general sources of law and cites to specific laws on various subjects such as taxation.
Cayman Islands, Guide to Law Online, Law Library of Congress
Update: Guide to Caribbean Law Research, GlobaLex
By Yemisi Dina