Foreign Law by Jurisdiction: Germany

Also available in English.

CGerLI is the gateway to German law in English. This website offers a comprehensive and freely accessible database of electronic materials on German law. It brings together English translations of court decisions, legislation, articles and other law-related documents.

The official translation of Books 1 and 2. The German Federal Ministry of Justice has commissioned a translation of the Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (or BGB), the Civil Code of Germany.

Unofficial English translation.

Unofficial English translation.

Part I is free. Part II is free after registration.

Multi-jurisdictional site for English translations of legal primary sources, including coverage of Germany. Materials come from the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law. Translated decisions come from the Reichsgericht, the Bundesverfassungsgericht and the Bundesgerichtshof.

Unofficial, free texts of almost all federal law, including the Penal code (Stgb), the Civil code (BGB) Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch, etc. Click Aktualitätendienst for a list of recent amendments.

Contains machine-produced English translations of the legislation of Germany. Warning: Machine-based translations should not be relied upon in important documents and writings.

Includes English translations of legal materials in the fields of constitutional, administrative, contract and tort law.

Das Juristische Information system fur die Bundesrepublik Deutschland (The official database of Germany). Laws, codes, cases, articles.

Catalog for finding books and full-text articles that cross searches over all German-speaking jurisdictions.

Contains English translations of Germany's constitution, criminal code, code of criminal procedure, and variety of human rights oriented legislation.

Contains a great number of primary legal resources. One resource is the Federal Law Gazette (Bundesgesetzblatt). Contains Federal and State legislation including preparatory documents. To find full text materials, go to "Dokumente" and "Bund." From the drop down menu Institution select "Bundesregierung" and from the Gesetzblatt menu select the publication you are looking for (Ex. Bundesgesetzblatt Teil I). Enter the year in the field for Jahr (year). You will get a list of issues; click on the page number you want, and get the document.

Use the 'Table of Contents' tab to navigate to this title. Countries arranged in alphabetic order. Includes the full text of the tax and commercial law of Germany in English.

Der Juristische Fachverlag für Praktiker. Recent Supreme Court cases and other courts cases.

A directory of German tax sites and international tax sites; information on the taxation of electronic commerce and US-German tax materials (US tax glossary, USA - Germany tax treaties).

Germany database on patent law.

A comprehensive site available in German, English, French, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Russian, and Portuguese. Court reports in German are selective. Links to Federal Constitutional Court - BVerfG, Federal Administrative Court, Federal Supreme Court (the full texts of the decisions of the Bundesgerichtshof are now online in PDF format starting from 1 January 2000), European Court of Justice. Contains pagination to the official court document and some head notes in English.

Code of Civil Procedure, in German.

By Dr. Sebastian Omlor

By Sebastian Omlor