International Law: Specialized Sources: Humanitarian law/Law of war

8 volumes.

17 volumes

Conventions, status, parties, etc., and the Pictet Commentary, which is comprised of:
v. 1. Geneva Convention for the Amelioration of the Condition of the Wounded and Sick in Armed Forces in the Field
v. 2. Geneva Convention for the Amelioration of the Condition of Wounded, Sick, and Shipwrecked Members of Armed Forces at Sea
v. 3. Geneva Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War
v. 4. Geneva Convention Relative to the Protection of Civilian Persons in Time of War

Ed. by Andrew Clapham.

National laws and cases that implement IHL treaties and related instruments.

The database is the searchable, updated version of the study results originally published in 2005 (see below) to provide evidence of the rules of IHL and the underlying state practice.

Edited by Elizabeth Wilmshurst & Susan Breau.

Edited by Dražan Djukić and Niccolò Pons.

2d edition on order.

"The authoritative, comprehensive overview of the rules that are to be followed in peace operations conducted by the United Nations, the European Union, NATO, the African Union and other organisations, with detailed commentary on best practice in relation to those rules." Prepared by an international group of experts at the invitation of the International Society for Military Law and the Law of War. Edited by Terry D. Gill, Dieter Fleck, William H. Boothby &Alfons Vanheusden.

By Melissa Hyland.

By Joan Policastri and Sergio Stone. This guide provides a comprehensive list of research sources, including current and historical sources, case law, military manuals, journals, databases, etc.

Search keyword Manual.

This excellent guide lists the tribunals and dates covered by the various military justice reporters listed below.

Good for pre-1951 material, this LLMC collection also contains the Court-Martial Reports, 1951-1975, other court-martial opinions, digests of opinions (in Digests and the earlier JAG Army Bulletin), and selected military laws, manuals, regulations, periodicals, and theses. It contains the Court-Martial Reports (CMR), but not West's Military Justice Reporter. To do a full-text search of some or all of these materials, go to LLMC Digital and follow this path: Search Collections>Special Focus Collections>Military Law Collection.

Covers the tribunals reported in the Court-Martial Reports and the West's Military Justice Reporter. For the broadest search, choose Content as follows: Practice Areas>Military Law>Military Law Cases. This content will include the Federal District & Appellate Courts and the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, as well as the military courts. This Practice Area also has selected statutes, regulations and other administrative materials, and secondary sources.

Search the West Digest online to find cases within West's subject outline of case law. Go to Key Numbers on the Westlaw main page and choose a topic and key number, for example, Armed Services, Military Justice or War and National Emergency. Build a search using a topic and key number and your specific search terms. Example: 258Ak655 AND "flight arrangements" (topic 258A is Military Justice and key number 655 is desertion...).

Practice area--Military & Veterans Law--Cases. This Practice Area also has selected statutes, regulations and other administrative materials, and secondary sources.