Skip to Main Content
site header image

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

About This List

The NYU School of Law developed this curated list of legal databases.

Find More Resources

Looking for more resources, including multi-disciplinary resources? Check the NYU Libraries List of Databases.

Get Help

chat loading...
Report issues accessing Electronic Resources by submitting a ticket

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
American Nominative Reports This link opens in a new window
New
This comprehensive collection of American nominative reports in digital form includes reports spanning from 1789 to 1907. This database also includes the entire set of Federal Cases, a compilation of decisions from the United States circuit and district courts ranging from the nation’s first court case to the publication of the Federal Reporter in 1880. These decisions, prepared by various reporters and compiled into a single set, are arranged alphabetically by case title and numbered consecutively from books one through 30. The Federal Cases, in addition to the Federal Reporter, create an inclusive collection of all lower-level U.S. federal court decisions.
English Nominative Reports This link opens in a new window
New
This collection aims to be the most comprehensive collection of English nominative reports in digital form, bringing together every edition published for each nominative. The nominative reports cover the years 1535-1865, a substantial portion of English legal history.

Jurisdiction: England
Gale Legal Forms This link opens in a new window
New
Gale welcomes you to the most extensive free forms site available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
Hotshot This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Hotshot Legal

Hotshot offers closed-caption videos, quizzes and outlines to help you get up to speed on a range of topics. Hotshot is helpful for preparing for job interviews, ex/internships, post-graduation employment, and exams.

You must create an account to use this resource. To register, please visit https://www.hotshotlegal.com/join/nyu-law and signup with your nyu.edu address. 
 

Irish Nominative Reports This link opens in a new window
New
HeinOnline's collection of Irish Nominative Reports consists of nominatives covering cases prior to 1894, as well as law reports, which are compilations of notes on cases; and a subcollection of books, digests, and other related works such as notes, periodicals, and treatises. Key titles within this collection include Irish Chancery Reports, Irish Common Law Reports, Irish Law Reports, and Irish Equity Reports.

Jurisdiction: Ireland
PLI Law School Hub/PLI Programs Scholarship This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) Practising Law Institute, PLI Plus, Law School Hub
Practising Law Institute (PLI) currently makes their programs available for free to law school students and faculty through their scholarship program. The (very brief) application form can be found here: https://learning.pli.edu/scholarship
n.b. if you or a faculty member you are working with is looking to use the program in a course, then please note that in the application. If you are faculty, please select 'Law Professor' under the Employment Status drop down on the application form.
Any PLI program content (except the Patent Office Exam Course) is admissible for the scholarship program.
Spinelli's Law Library Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window
Alternate Name(s) HeinOnline
Initially conceived as a collection specifically for law librarians, Spinelli’s Law Library Reference Shelf now has increased its scope to reach the entire legal research community. Dick Spinelli brings his more than 45 years of experience in working with librarians and law libraries to the creation and editing of this collection.

For librarians, this unique collection brings together checklists, newsletters, and cataloging tools. For legal researchers, it contains research guides, bibliographies, dictionaries, and biographies. For faculty and administrators, it houses a section on Legal Education and much more.
West Academic Casebooks Archive This link opens in a new window
New
This archive of casebooks published by West Academic covers all out-of-print and superseded casebooks in the American Casebook Series, University Casebook Series, Hornbook Series, and Nutshell Series, except for the two most recent editions of any title.
Wharton Research Data Services - SEC Analytics This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) WRDS SEC Analytics, WRDS
The WRDS SEC Analytics Suite is a comprehensive research suite that provides standardized tools, enabling users to systematically parse regulatory reports on the SEC website, covering SEC filings starting from 1994.

Law faculty and graduate students may register for a personal account.
More information can be found on this guide:
https://guides.nyu.edu/wrds/
Writing for Litigators 2023 This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s) PLI Plus
Good writing is one of the critical skills necessary to success in the practice of law. This program will teach you the secrets of successful legal writing, whether you are writing for judges, partners, or clients.
This program is free to law school students and faculty through their scholarship program. To access this program, fill out the brief application here:
https://learning.pli.edu/scholarship
n.b. If you are faculty and plan to use the programming in a course, please note that in the application.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...