Company Information and Data

Corporate social responsibility (CSR) is a self-regulating business model that helps a company be socially accountable to itself, its stakeholders, and the public. It often incorporates Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) criteria, which provide a framework for evaluating a company’s performance in sustainability, social impact, and ethical governance.

By practicing corporate social responsibility, also called corporate citizenship, companies are aware of how they impact aspects of society, including economic, social, and environmental. Engaging in CSR means a company operates in ways that enhance society and the environment instead of contributing negatively to them.

An ESG score is a numerical assessment of a company's sustainability and ethical practices, reflecting its management of environmental, social, and governance risks. Higher scores suggest better practices and risk management. ESG metrics are the specific criteria used to evaluate these practices, categorized into environmental, social, and governance aspects.

Many providers also collect and standardize specific data points/metrics/variables related to a company's ESG performance. These data points are integral to calculating ESG scores and typically fall into several formats:

Boolean Values: These are binary (TRUE or FALSE) value responses to ESG-related questions, like "Has the company set targets or objectives to be achieved on water efficiency?" or "Does the company have a policy regarding the size of its board?"
Numerical Values: Quantitative measures about a company such as total employee count or the number of women on the board of directors.
Ratios & Percentages: Derived from combining two or more ESG metrics, often forming new indicators like Total Energy Use divided by Total Revenue or Non-audit to Audit Fee Ratio.

ESG data provides detailed information on companies' environmental, social, and governance practices, sourced from filings, regulatory reports, and third-party data.
Scope: Global coverage, including ESG indicators such as carbon emissions, board composition, workforce diversity, and corporate governance structures.
Company Types: Public companies and select private firms worldwide, with a focus on large- and mid-cap businesses across various industries.
Coverage: Includes data on over 11,500 companies worldwide, with historical records dating back to the early 2000s.
Features:

• Extensive ESG metrics organized by sector and region
• Tools to analyze trends and compare company performance
• Historical and current ESG scores based on - reported data

LSEG ESG data provides global ESG metrics to help assess sustainability risks and performance. Data is sourced from company reports and regulatory filings, aligned with major ESG frameworks.
Scope: Global
Company Types: Primarily public listed companies, encompassing various market sectors.
Coverage: ESG data on numerous companies worldwide, encompassing a wide range of industries and sectors.
Features:

• ESG scores and detailed metric analysis for individual companies.
• Industry-specific ESG benchmarks and insights.
• Integration with LSEG’s broader financial and risk assessment tools

Preqin ESG provides data on environmental, social, and governance (ESG) factors for alternative investments, sourced from fund reports, investor surveys, and proprietary research.
Scope: Global 
Company Types: Private market fund managers, portfolio companies, institutional investors, and alternative investment firms.
Coverage: ESG data on thousands of funds, investors, and portfolio companies across multiple regions and sectors.
Features:

• ESG ratings and risk assessments for funds and portfolio companies
• Sector-specific ESG benchmarks and trends
• Integration with Preqin’s core alternative investment data
• The ESG data, previously known as Datastream ASSET4, is also available in Refinitiv ESG within WRDS.