LibGuides: Company Information and Data: SEC Filings

Where to access SEC filings

EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval) is the data filing and retrieval system used by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) since 1994.
Scope: U.S. companies (primarily public) with some international coverage for cross-listed entities.
Company Types: Public companies; limited information on private companies
Database Coverage: SEC filings since 1994, including annual reports (10-K), quarterly reports (10-Q), proxy statements, registration statements, and other required disclosures.
Feature:

Free and open access to filed financial documents.
Comprehensive search tools for filings by company, form type, or date.
API integration for automated data retrieval

Alternative Access Resource: SEC Analytics via WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)

RBSource
RBsource is a securities law database that includes statutes, regulations, guidance materials published by the SEC, and secondary sources. RBsource also provides access to the SECs EDGAR database, which includes filings, exhibits, SEC comment letters, and no-action letters.
Users must register with using a current NYU email address prior to access. Access the resource through "My Solutions."
Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law has all filings in the SEC EDGAR database. Bloomberg Law's Advanced EDGAR Search permits users to research and retrieve the filings using a broad array of filters and search terms. In addition to keyword searches, users may access information by form type such as registration statements, prospectuses, and 1934 Act reports. You may also limit your search to individual exhibits.
Passwords are provided to NYU Law faculty and currently-enrolled law students. Register for a Bloomberg Account by clicking the profile icon.
Intelligize
Intelligize is a research platform for searching and accessing materials relevant to securities disclosures, transactions, regulation, enforcement, and compliance; and analytics. Coverage includes Company Insights, SEC Filings, SEC No-Action Letters, Disclosure Benchmarking, Private Placement Memoranda, and Environmental, Social & Governance along with news updates from law firms and securities blogs.
To first access Intelligize, NYU Law faculty and students should email brent.pyle@lexisnexis.com from your NYU email and provide your expected Law School graduation date. After you have an account, you can access the product through Lexis's product switcher or directly through the app.
Westlaw
Westlaw has full coverage of electronic EDGAR Forms and EDGAR Exhibits from 1996 to present.
Passwords are provided to law faculty and currently-enrolled law students.

If prompted for a Client ID, you may enter NYULAW or any text to continue.

Additional Resources

The Securities Enforcement Empirical Database (SEED)
The Securities Enforcement Empirical Database (SEED) tracks and records information for SEC enforcement actions filed against public companies traded on major U.S. exchanges and their subsidiaries.
more...less...
Created by the NYU Pollack Center for Law & Business in cooperation with Cornerstone Research, SEED facilitates the analysis and reporting of SEC enforcement actions through regular updates of new filings and settlement information for ongoing enforcement actions. The variables tracked include defendant names and types, violations, venues, and resolutions.

Company Information and Data

Where to access SEC filings

Additional Resources

Pre-EDGAR Company Financial Resources