International Law: Specialized Sources: U.S. law, manuals, courts-martial, & military justice

Search keyword Manual.

This excellent guide lists the tribunals and dates covered by the various military justice reporters listed below.

Good for pre-1951 material, this LLMC collection also contains the Court-Martial Reports, 1951-1975, other court-martial opinions, digests of opinions (in Digests and the earlier JAG Army Bulletin), and selected military laws, manuals, regulations, periodicals, and theses. It contains the Court-Martial Reports (CMR), but not West's Military Justice Reporter. To do a full-text search of some or all of these materials, go to LLMC Digital and follow this path: Search Collections>Special Focus Collections>Military Law Collection.

Covers the tribunals reported in the Court-Martial Reports and the West's Military Justice Reporter. For the broadest search, choose Content as follows: Practice Areas>Military Law>Military Law Cases. This content will include the Federal District & Appellate Courts and the U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims, as well as the military courts. This Practice Area also has selected statutes, regulations and other administrative materials, and secondary sources.

Search the West Digest online to find cases within West's subject outline of case law. Go to Key Numbers on the Westlaw main page and choose a topic and key number, for example, Armed Services, Military Justice or War and National Emergency. Build a search using a topic and key number and your specific search terms. Example: 258Ak655 AND "flight arrangements" (topic 258A is Military Justice and key number 655 is desertion...).

Practice area--Military & Veterans Law--Cases. This Practice Area also has selected statutes, regulations and other administrative materials, and secondary sources.