LibGuides: United Nations & League of Nations: Meeting records, statements, speeches

Meeting Records: Bluebook Rule 21.7.1

SR. = summary records
PV. = proces verbal (verbatim record)
Meeting records, if published, are part of the Official Records (OR) of a UN body. In print, the NYU Law Library has only some prior years of the Official Records and the print holdings do not include all of the meeting records.

About SC meeting records
About GA meeting records
About ECOSOC meeting records
Security Council meetings and outcomes, UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library
With links to meeting records, press releases (draft resolutions) and final resolutions.
Table of General Assembly Resolutions, United Nations Dag Hammarsköld Library
Gives agenda items, UN document symbol for meeting record and links to drafts and meeting records.
Official Records online, ODS
Journal of the United Nations
Good for recent meetings and advance unedited meeting documents.
General Assembly Official Records
Security Council Official Records
Economic and Social Council Official Records

UN Member States on the record

UN Member States on the Record
Covers the GA, SC, ECOSOC, and Human Rights Council, and provides general debate statements, speeches, draft resolutions sponsored, diplomatic relations between states, and representative’s credentials for each state on the record

Finding meeting records by topic, keywords, speakers, full-text

Find Meeting Records & Speeches, UN Dag Hammarskjold Library
Index to Proceedings, United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library (GA, ECOSOC and SC)
Identify meetings by subject and speeches by subject and speaker's name. Also includes information on votes and a list of documents issued during the session.
Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly
Index to Proceedings of the Security Council (print, NYU Law Library)
Index to Proceedings of the Economic and Social Council (print, NYU Law Library)
United Nations Digital Library
Replaced UNBISNET. Searches for UN documents and open access UN publications, voting information (for GA and SC) and citations to speeches. Tools include a search engine, links between related documents and search alerts. For items pre-1993, the system might not provide full text; use the ODS instead. FOR SEARCHING INSTRUCTIONS, CLICK more.
more...less...
A query in the main screen searches metadata (e.g., title, author, subjects, document symbol, & agenda item), but not full text. To limit results, use the facets that appear either in the left column or under Options on the right. To sort results by latest date first, select "year descending," not "latest first," which sorts by load date. To search in the full text of documents, run an initial search, then turn on Fulltext search on the results screen. The best search options are All of the Words, Any of the Words or Partial phrase (not Exact phrase). To search by document symbol, the first letter should be capitalized. The wild card key is * and the truncation key is %. Boolean operators are AND OR and NOT. FOR VOTING DATA: choose Resource Type Voting Data and turn on Full text search. FOR SPEECHES: choose Resource Type Speeches. The Digital Library does not have full text of speeches; copy the UN document symbol, paste it at the end of this url http://undocs.org/ and search it in your browser.