This is the "New Journal Issue and Subject Alerts" page of the "Keeping Current On The Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Keeping Current On The Law  

Many online resources enable readers to create email alerts and RSS feeds to keep current on the latest legal information.
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2013 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/alerts Print Guide RSS Updates

New Journal Issue and Subject Alerts Print Page
  Search: 
 

Journal and Search Alerts

Many databases permit users to set up alerts. Two common types include:

  • Journal Alerts:  These alerts, sometimes called e-table of contents alerts, notify researchers when a new issue of a periodical is added to the database. Increasingly, databases are also provding advance access to articles.
  • Subject/Search Alerts: These alerts notify researchers when new content matching a topic or a search string is added to a database.

Database alerts are delivered in a variety of ways, including email, RSS feeds, and twitter. To set up alerts, ssers should follow instructions on the individual databases. While every database employs a slightly different set up method, many require the researcher to register for a free account. An nyu.edu email address is often required.

      

    Databases Offering Alerts

    Below is a small selection of databases that permit users to set up alerts of various types. Increasingly, databases offer this function.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip