LibGuides: Keeping Current On The Law: Other Databases

Introduction

Below is a small sampling of Law Library databases that permit users to create alerts of various types. You can find more databases on the Julius platform under the heading "Find Databases" - select 'Legal Databases' for a curated A-Z list. Once on the database, look for the instructions / help manual on how to create alerts.

Law Library Saved Searches and Alerts

Discovery, NYU Law Library's catalog, allows researchers to save previous searches. For more instructions, visit this Research Guide.

HeinOnline

HeinOnline
To set up alerts, you must first sign up for MyHein account. Click on "MyHein" on the top of the screen and then navigate to "Create an account." You can set up alerts through "Search Queries" and "eTOC Alerts." Further information is found in the "MyHein User's Guide" under the "MyHein" dropdown menu.
How to Create eTOC Alerts
How to Receive Title Alerts via MyHein
CILP/Smart CILP

SSRN

Legal Scholarship Network, SSRN
Subscribe to eJournal alerts after creating an SSRN account. These can be managed in your account under the 'Subscriptions' page on the left menu.
If you are interested in NYU Law publications, subscribe to the 'NYU Law & Economics Research Paper Series-CMBO' and 'NYU School of Law, Public Law & Legal Theory Research Paper Series-CMBO'.
For NYU Law authors, navigate to their SSRN profile and select the RSS feed icon.
How do subscriptions work on SSRN? SSRN Support Center

LegalTrac

LegalTrac
LegalTrac is a legal periodical indexing service endorsed by the American Association of Law Libraries. AALL's special advisory committee selects, reviews and enhances the content of this resource.
After running a search in LegalTrac, create an alert using the Search Alert button on the top right.
Search Alerts and RSS Feeds, Gale Support

Tax Analysts

FAQ - How Can I Set Alerts? Help Center, Tax Notes
Instructions on how to create an alert or saved search.
Tax Notes
After signing up for an account (see link for instructions), click on "MyTax Notes" -> "Manage Email Subscriptions" at the top of the page to sign up for email alerts of various Tax Analysts publications, like Tax Notes or Worldwide Tax Daily. Tax Analysts also permits custom alerts, under the link "Saved Searches."
Video on Setting Alerts up on Tax Notes, YouTube

ProQuest

ProQuest Central
Alerts can be created with or without individual Proquest "My Research" accounts, but the latter can be more easily modified.
Alerts, ProQuest Help
How to Set Up Alerts on ProQuest, ProQuest Support Center Website
My Research, ProQuest Platform LibGuide
To create a MyResearch account, access this link: https://www.proquest.com/myresearch/createAccount

EBSCO & EBSCO Discovery Service

EBSCO Discovery Service
To create an alert, you must create and login to a MyEBSCO account.
Legal Source - Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (ILP)
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (ILP) is a bibliographic database citing articles from law journals and books from 1981 to present.
Search Alerts Instructions for EBSCO Host, EBSCO Connect

Cambridge Core

Cambridge Journals
Cambridge offers journal alerts & saved searches. Users must sign up for individual accounts.
How to Sign up for Journal Alerts on Cambridge Core

Oxford Academic

Oxford Academic
Sign up for an Oxford Academic account for access to Oxford University Press (OUP) email alerts.
Email Alerts