Empirical Research and Data Services

A comprehensive compendium of statistics from over 1,000 sources recording every aspect of the history of the United States from population to prices; from voting patterns to Vietnam veterans; from energy to education; from abortions to zinc and everything in between.

This book is intended for use in a first course in Statistics. There is a systematic academic approach in "Modern Elementary Statistics". Its emphasis is on introduction to meaningful, well-established statistical techniques. The future would be medical doctor, business executive, scientist, teacher, or other professional specialist must comprehend and be skillful in the application of basic statistical tools and methodology. The student's knowledge is greatly enhanced by repeated exposure to statistical exercises.

Introducing statistical ideas and practice in a style liberal arts majors can fully grasp, Statistics: Concepts and Controversies gives you the tools that will help you understand the impact of statistics on all aspects of our lives.

This is a collection of the finest, most important articles from American Bar Foundation scholars spanning the last two decades. Featuring such noted authorities as Steven D. Levitt, co-author of the best-seller Freakonomics, readers will be fascinated with the wealth and depth of information contained in this volume. Their program of sociolegal research is conducted by an interdisciplinary staff of Research Fellows trained in such diverse fields as law, sociology, psychology, political science, economics, history, and anthropology.

This book sets out basic statistical tools as they have been applied in actual legal disputes. Examples range over diverse fields of law, such as identification evidence, mass torts, securities law, environmental regulation, and capital punishment, among many others.

Empirical Methods in Law brings the basic principles and concepts of social-science research to the desks of law students and lawyers who expect to work with data experts.

Designed to introduce law students, law teachers, practitioners, and judges to the basic ideas of mathematical probability and statistics as they have been applied in the law, the book consists of sections of exposition followed by real-world cases and case studies in which statistical data have played a role.

The goal of this book is to provide an easy way for members of the legal profession to acquire a basic understanding of some of the most common methods that serve as the building blocks for empirical evidence in academic articles, policy briefs, and expert witness reports.

A landmark overview of empirical research in law that takes stock of a central development in modern legal scholarship
Provides a guide to empirical methodology in legal research of value to anyone embarking on empirical research for the first time
Offers a comprehensive analysis of the empirical literature on every aspect of law in the modern world
Includes perspectives from across American and European academia

Written by two leading experts on experimental methods, this concise text covers the major aspects of experiment design, analysis, and interpretation in clear language. Students learn how to design randomized experiments, analyze the data, and interpret the findings.

A comprehensive guide to the discovery, analysis, and evaluation of natural experiments. Thad Dunning provides an introduction to key issues in causal inference, including model specification, and emphasizes the importance of strong research design over complex statistical analysis.

This book provides an introduction to causal inference from one of the field’s leading scholars. Using minimal mathematics and statistics, Paul Rosenbaum explains key concepts and methods through scientific examples that make complex ideas concrete and abstract principles accessible.

What is a good question? Although there are several potential sources for error in survey data, the validity of surveys is dependent upon the design of the question asked. This invaluable book shows how to word and format questions that will evoke the kind of answers for which they are designed and how to evaluate empirically survey questions.

Drawing on classic and modern research from cognitive psychology, social psychology, and survey methodology, this book examines the psychological roots of survey data, how survey responses are formulated, and how seemingly unimportant features of the survey can affect the answers obtained.

Key topics in survey methodology are clearly explained in the book's chapters, with coverage including sampling frame evaluation, sample design, development of questionnaires, evaluation of questions, alternative modes of data collection, interviewing, nonresponse, post-collection processing of survey data, and practices for maintaining scientific integrity.