Bluebook citation and beyondOther sources and GATT 1947Other trade agreements
GATT and early WTO documents, 1946-1997WTO documents, 1995-present
Citing the dispute settlement reportsDocuments from dispute settlements (submissions)Finding disputes by topic, article number, etc.Selected books about dispute settlement
Citing to a U.S. sourceGovernment websites, etc.U.S. legislative history
This is the "Books and articles" page of the "WTO & GATT Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WTO & GATT Research   Tags: foreign & international law, international law  

This guide presents the essential sources for researching the former GATT and the current system under the Uruguay Round agreements and the World Trade Organization. NOTE: Main tabs list general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/wto_gatt Print Guide RSS Updates

Books and articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Selected journals & books

A FEW JOURNALS... To locate these and other journals if you know the title, go to the Julius. Use the Journal Title search box and search the journal name (not the article title). 

Journal of International Economic Law

Journal of World Trade


Law and Business Review of the Americas (formerly Nafta: Law and Business Review of the Americas)

World Trade and Arbitration Materials

See also Finding books, and articles in law reviews, journals, and newspapers


PLACES TO START

SEE ALSO the books listed under the Negotiating History tab.

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law. An article on the WTO is in preparation for this online encyclopedia, but there are already numerous articles under the subject "international economic law and relations." An older article on the WTO appears in the print edition of the Encyclopedia (Reference KZ1160 .E53 1992). Stayed tuned for the complete new edition, both online and in print.

An Introduction to Trade Law: Selected International Agreements and U.S. Laws. Congressional Research Service Report 41306, June 29, 2010. According to the Summary, this CRS report looks at "a select group of agreements, provisions, and statutes that are most commonly implicated by U.S. trade interests and policy," and cautions researchers that "there are U.S. trade obligations beyond those reviewed in this report." The report also looks at U.S. constitutional authority and separation of powers in the trade area and identifies the agencies and entities that develop, administer and enforce the rules. 

The Law of Globalization: An Introduction. Laurence Boulle. Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands: Kluwer Law International, 2009. B1 K3842 .B68 2009. On the WTO, see esp. Chapter 5, "The Law of International Organizations." 

Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law series, Max Planck Commentaries on World Trade Law. For example, volume 2, WTO: Institutions and Dispute Settlement, provides an article-by-article commentary on the history, interpretation and existing case law under the WTO Agreements and the DSU.

Oxford University Press series, Oxford Commentaries on International Law. Oxford Commentaries on the GATT/WTO Agreements  

The Oxford Handbook of International Trade Law. Ed. Daniel Bethlehem ... [et al.] Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. B1 and Reserve K1005 .O94 2009 

The Political Economy of the World Trading System: The WTO and Beyond. 3d ed. Bernard M. Hoekman and Michel M. Kostecki. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2009. B1 HF1359 .H64 2009

NUTSHELLS: 
International Business Transactions in a Nutshell. 8th ed. Ralph H. Folsom, Michael Wallace Gordon, and John A. Spanogle, Jr. St. Paul, Minn.: West, 2009.  Reserve K3943 .W54 2009

International Trade and Economic Relations in a Nutshell


SELECTED BOOKS...

Guide to GATT Law and Practice: GATT Analytical Index. Updated 6th ed. Geneva: WTO and Bernan Press, 1995. Two vols. Up-to-date to January 1, 1995. Also available on a CDROM co-published by WTO and Bernan Press.  Reference K4603 1947.A44 G85 1995      

WTO Analytical Index: Guide to WTO Law and Practice. 1st ed. Geneva: WTO Publications; Lanham, Md: Bernan, 2003. Two volumes.  Reserve and Reference K4610.A23 W86 2003

The EU, the WTO, and the NAFTA: Towards a Common Law of International Trade? Ed. J.H.H. Weiler. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.  Bound Periodicals K3 .O3437 v. 9, bk. 1

Intellectual Property Rights in the WTO and Developing Countries. Jayashree Watal. Boston: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 2001.
B1  K1401 .W38 2001
       
International Economic Law. Andreas F. Lowenfeld. International Economic Law Series. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.  B1  K3941 .L69 2008
 
International Trade Practice. 2d ed. Kaye and Dunn. Eagan, MN: Thomson/West, 2004. B1 KF6659 .K393 

Legal Guide to GATS. Nellie Munin. Kluwer Law International, 2010. Global Trade Law Series; 31. B1 K3973 .M86 2010.

Regional Trade Agreements and the WTO Legal System. Ed. Lorand Bartels and Federico Ortino. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
B1  K4610 .R44 2006
       
The Regulation of International Trade. 3d ed. Michael J. Trebilcock and Robert Howse. London;New York: Routledge, 2005
Reserve K3943 .T72 2005 

Trade Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights: A Commentary on the TRIPS Agreement. Carlos Maria Correa. Oxford Commentaries on GATT/WTO Agreements. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006. B1 K1401.A41994 C68 2007
       
The World Trade Organization: Constitution and Jurisprudence. John H. Jackson. London: Royal Institute of International Affairs, 1998.
Reserve and Reference K4603 1994 .J33 1998
       
The World Trade Organization: Law, Practice, and Policy. Mitsuo Matsushita, Thomas J. Schoenbaum and Petros C. Mavroidis. 3d ed. Oxford International Law Library. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2015.  Reserve K4600 .M38 2015     

World Trade Report. Geneva: WTO, 2003-. The main WTO research publication on global trade policy.    

WTO: Institutions and Dispute Settlement.  Ed. Rudiger Wolfrum, Peter-Tobias Stoll and Karen Kaiser. Max Planck Commentaries on World Trade Law; 2. The Hague: Martinus Nijhoff International, 2006. 
Reserve K4610 .W6713 2006

More ways to find articles and books

See also Books, working papers, etc. and Law reviews, journals, articles

The JULIUS catalog of the Law Library lists all types of materials (books, law reviews, case reporters, treaty collections, etc.) in all formats (paper, microform, internet).

  • With the drop down above, search by title, author, call number, keyword, subject, or ISBN/ISSN number. 

    The Advanced Keyword search in JULIUS has more search options, including subject.
    Suggested subject phrases for searching in Julius include:

    Administrative law
    Competition, unfair
    Customs administration
    Developing countries--foreign economic relations
    Environmental law, international--economic aspects
    Financial services industry
    Foreign trade regulation
    Free trade   
    General agreement on tariffs and trade
    Intellectual property
    International economic relations
    International trade
    International trade--environmental aspects
    Non-tariff trade barriers
    Services industries
    Tariff--law and legislation
    Uruguay Round
    World Trade Organization

  • To locate print material in the Law Library, note the call number and location. Click on the location for a map, or ask for directions at the Reference Desk. 

Bobcat, NYU Bobst Library catalog

WTO Bookshop

WTO Discussion Papers. WTO Secretariat

Bibliography on the World Trade Organization, 2004-. Peace Palace Library Bibliographies compiled by Drs H.H.R. Van Hamel. Earlier bibliography through 2003.

WTO Bibliography Database. Lists articles, books and working papers published between 1994 and 2002.

Oxford Bibliographies: International Law. Identifies the essential works on topics of international law.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip