Bluebook citation and beyondOther sources and GATT 1947Other trade agreements
GATT and early WTO documents, 1946-1997WTO documents, 1995-present
Citing the dispute settlement reportsDocuments from dispute settlements (submissions)Finding disputes by topic, article number, etc.Selected books about dispute settlement
Citing to a U.S. sourceGovernment websites, etc.U.S. legislative history
This is the "Government websites, etc." page of the "WTO & GATT Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

WTO & GATT Research   Tags: foreign & international law, international law  

This guide presents the essential sources for researching the former GATT and the current system under the Uruguay Round agreements and the World Trade Organization. NOTE: Main tabs list general sources that might not be repeated in the dropdown tabs.
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/wto_gatt Print Guide RSS Updates

Government websites, etc. Print Page
  Search: 
 

U.S. govt websites, etc.

  • An Introduction to Trade Law: Selected International Agreements and U.S. Laws. Congressional Research Service Report 41306, June 29, 2010. According to the Summary, this CRS report looks at "a select group of agreements, provisions, and statutes that are most commonly implicated by U.S. trade interests and policy," and cautions researchers that "there are U.S. trade obligations beyond those reviewed in this report." The report also looks at the constitutional authority behind trade rules and identifies the agencies and entities that develop, administer and enforce the rules.

  • HeinOnline U.S. International Trade Law Library. Contains USITC Publications Archive, legislative histories, CFR & U.S. Code Title 15 and 19: Commerce & Foreign Trade and Customs Duties, various publications, other materials, and forthcoming, Section 337 Investigations files. 

  • Export.gov  U.S. Free Trade Agreements An interagency effort between the Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, State, Treasury and the Office of the United States Trade Representative, to provide the public with the latest information on America's trade agreements and pending free trade agreements. Includes reports on trade by U.S. states.

  • U.S. Trade Representative  A Cabinet member, the U.S. Trade Representative works in the WTO, in other regional trade fora and with U.S. trading partners as the President's principal trade policy advisor, negotiator and spokesperson on trade and trade-related investment issues. The agency has administrative responsibility for the Generalized System of Preferences, Section 301 complaints against foreign unfair trade practices, Section 1377, Section 337, and import relief cases under Section 201. The website has summaries and the texts of the WTO agreements, speeches, testimony, press releases, Federal Register notices, reports, and much more.

  • U.S. International Trade Administration  The ITA provides practical information to help businesses select markets and products. The Market Access and Compliance unit works with foreign governments to make sure the U.S. is getting the benefits due under its trade agreements. The Trade Compliance Center takes complaints from U.S. businesses, and monitors, investigates and evaluates foreign government compliance with the trade agreements. The Import Administration defends U.S. businesses against foreign dumping and subsidies and administers the Foreign Trade Zones. The ITA website has news, press releases, laws, administrative materials, E-Forms, background information, TradeStats Express, and more.

  • U.S. International Trade Commission  The ITC (formerly the U.S. Tariff Commission) is an independent, non-partisan, quasi-judicial federal agency that administers U.S. trade remedy laws, provides analysis and information to the President, the USTR and the Congress, and maintains the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States. The website also has ITC investigative and fact-finding reports. The Information Center has online filings, notices, and the Interactive Tariff and Trade Data Webwhich provides free international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data.

  • U.S. Dept. of Commerce

  • U.S. Court of International Trade  With broader jurisdiction and powers than its predecessor the U.S. Customs Court, the Court of International Trade has exclusive jurisdiction to decide any civil action against the U.S., its officers or its agencies arising out of any law pertaining to international trade and certain civil actions under laws on import transactions. The website includes information for attorneys, rules, forms, and slip opinions since 1999.

  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit  In 1982, Congress merged the U.S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals and the U.S. Court of Claims to form the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. The jurisdiction of the Court includes appeals from final decisions of the Court of International Trade and appeals from final determinations of the International Trade Commission on unfair practices in import trade. The website of the Court has rules, forms, calendar and docket information, and opinions and orders (which are posted for at least 90 days).

  • Country Reports on Economic Policy and Trade Practices. Report Submitted to the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Committee on Ways and Means of the House, and the Committee on Foreign Relations, Committee on Finance of the Senate, by the Dept. of State in accordance with section 2202 of the Omnibus Trade and Competitiveness Act of 1988. Joint Committee Print. Washington, D.C.: GPO, 1989-.
    B1  HF1410 .C69 Online access
    CIS microfiche

  • [Year] Trade Policy Agenda and [year] Annual Report of the President of the United States on the Trade Agreements Program. Washington, D.C.: Office of the United States Trade Representative, 1989-. B1  HF1731 .A42x  USTR website

  • USA Trade Online Trade statistics.
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip