LibGuides: International Law: General Sources: General tools for finding cases on international law

Find cases on international law by topic, etc.

No single reporter or source contains all international cases and awards.The sources listed below are in addition to other specialized sources for specific courts, tribunals or topics such as international trade disputes or human rights that are listed in other research guides and in the guide International Law: Specialized Sources.

Books, working papers, etc. and law reviews, journals, articles on your topic might cite relevant cases or awards. See also Practice of international law by other countries (yearbooks, etc.).

For the titles of a country's case reporters and similar publications, consult the Bluebook or another citation manual. See also Foreign Law by Jurisdiction, NYU Law Library.

How to Find Cases in English Translation, Revisited, Lyonette Louis-Jacques

See also
I.C.J. and P.C.I.J.
U.S. cases on international law

ILR, International Law Reports, JustisOne
Advanced Search>Cases>International Law Reports.
ILR, International Law Reports
Annual Digest and Reports of Public International Law Cases, 1919/22-1949.
Oxford Reports on International Law
Westlaw
Browse International Materials.
Lexis+
The "International" tab has foreign law materials for selected countries.
International Law in Domestic Courts, ORIL, Oxford Reports on International Law
International Courts of General Jurisdiction, ORIL, Oxford Reports on International Law
ALR International, vols 1-11 (2010-2017), then ceased publication
U.S. and foreign cases. Searchable in Westlaw, but full text annotations are not accessible to academic Westlaw users.
ILM, International Legal Materials, HeinOnline
Selected new treaties, laws, cases, etc., 1962-. Also available in print and in Westlaw, 1980-, and Lexis Advance>Research tab>Lexis.com, 1962-current.
International Tax Law Reports (ITLR), Lexis Library
Global Community: Yearbook of International Law and Jurisprudence
International Labor Rights Case Law
Judicial Decisions on the Law of International Organizations, Oxford Public International Law
Landmark Cases in Public International Law
Manual on International Courts and Tribunals
The Rules, Practice, and Jurisprudence of International Courts and Tribunals
United Nations Audiovisual Library: Jurisprudence
Websites of UN and other international, regional and national courts, and tools for case law research.
WIPO-Lex Judgments
Searchable database of selected judgments from Member States.

Citators: Find citations to a case, plus related cases & analysis

Oxford Law Citator
Cross-references both within OUP's online products and to other websites. Related items might lead you to subsequent history of the case or subsequent treatment of the issue. Citing cases & Subjects might lead you to other cases on your issue.
JustisOne
Click Alerts in the main toolbar to set up an alert based on jurisdiction, court, category, or any search you have done before.
Start with a case or legislation in JustisOne and the database will point you to related authorities. Cited Cases and Cited Legislation point to treatment of other authorities in the text of your case or legislation. Citing Cases links to cases that have cited yours, including cases that have treated your case negatively or positively. Categories links to cases on the same topics. The Precedent Map gives a visual representation of how legally similar cases are and which ones are likely to be most relevant to your research. For legislation, Amended Items links to items affected by your legislation and Amending Items links to all items that have had an effect on your legislation.
LawCite, AustLII
Provides citation history of court decisions from 75 countries, law journal articles, law reform documents, and treaties. Emphasis is on common law jurisdictions. Read the Help screen to see how Austlii differs from Keycite and Shepards.
RefLex, CanLII
The RefLex citator cross-links material within CanLII, the free database for Canadian legal materials, and provides citations to sources for materials cited, but not available in, CanLII.
Use your case name as a keyword to search in full-text databases of case law for additional cases that have cited to the case that you started with.

News & recent developments

The Hague Justice Portal
International Judicial Monitor, International Judicial Academy with the assistance of the American Society of International Law
International Tribunals Web Archive, Library of Congress
An archive of websites that host information about the most important international tribunals created since World War II.
Leiden Journal of International Law
Covers international legal theory and international dispute settlement as developed in the international tribunals in The Hague (such as the ICJ, ICTY, ICC and others) and elsewhere.
Netherlands International Law Review
News of the international tribunals at The Hague.
Law reviews, journals, articles