Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International & foreign materials in the major U.S. legal databases
See also Websites, databases & research guides.
International content in the major U.S. legal databases varies.The topic "International" under the U.S. portion of a database generally contains U.S. materials on international law and not foreign or international content, which generally is located as described below. Check the database's scope notes (usually an "i" icon) to determine specific content and dates covered.
On the main page, see Speciality Areas >International Materials. There are, however, foreign and international materials that are not listed under the heading "International Materials." See also the lists "International Materials Index" and "International Arbitration" under "Related Legal" on the upper right side of the International Materials page."Practical Law Global," in that same list, gathers "know-how for over 100 countries, organized by global practice area." NOTE: A search using the search box generally does NOT search the foreign and international sources. Before searching for foreign and international content, navigate to your source or the broader group of sources so that it is showing in the search box.
The "International" tab has "foreign" law, i.e., materials for selected other countries. The Practice Areas "International Law" and "International Trade Law" may have some non-U.S.materials, such as the WTO/GATT reports under International Trade Law>All International Trade Law Administrative Materials.
HeinOnline has numerous collections related to foreign and international law, including major treaty publications and very useful treaty indexes for the UN, multilateral and U.S. treaties, other UN materials, journals, and historical books. For a list of all relevant collections, see Browse Databases by Category or by Name.
Browse>All Legal Content>Select Sources by Global Jurisdiction. Selected content from Canada, Europe, Hong Kong, UAE, Cayman Islands, Jersey. Also includes International IP and some U.S. materials.