LibGuides: Finding Books, Book Chapters, and Book Reviews: Ebook Collections: Best Bets

Aggregator Ebook Collections: Best Bets

Aggregators offer ebooks on one platform from a number of publishers. Which one to select? Look at the coverage description for the collection. If not clear, Proquest's Ebook Central can be a good place to start for more current scholarship.

Ebook Central
Often offers PDF images that replicate print copies. To print or download material from Ebrary, users must create individual accounts. There may be page limits page limits for printing.
HaithiTrust
"Not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection." Great source for older government documents, including state, and much more.
HeinOnline
Hein libraries offering ebooks include Legal Classics, University of North Carolina Press Publications and World Trials.
JSTOR
"High-quality, peer reviewed content from leading academic publishers." Some contributing publishers are Harvard University Press, Brookings Institution Press, University of Virginia Press and Yale University Press.
Lexis Plus
Includes materials from 19 publishers with full-text view, print, and download options.
Project Muse
“Project MUSE is a trusted provider of authoritative humanities and social science books and journals from more than 200 of the world’s most distinguished university presses and scholarly societies.” Materials are available in full-text and download in PDF.
Westlaw
Ebooks can be found under "Secondary Sources" as well as through other WL groupings.

Free Resources: Best Bets

Internet Archive
"The Internet Archive and Open Library offers over 10,000,000 fully accessible books and texts." (Archive.org)
Google Books (Advanced Book Search)
Much material on Google Books is not available in full-text. Full text of books may be available though if the books has been scanned, is out of copyright, or if the publisher permits it.
Project Gutenberg
“Project Gutenburg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.”

Frequently Used Publisher Collections: Best Bets

Do you know the book's publisher? You may be able to access the e-book directly from the publisher's platform (via NYU's subscription). You can sometimes find ebooks on these platforms that are not in Discovery or Bobst Library's Catalog:

Brill Ebooks
Offers full-text and PDF.
Cambridge Core
Often offers PDF images that replicate print copies.
Elgaronline EBooks
Offers PDF images.
Springer Link
Offers full-text and PDF.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Includes Routledge
Wiley
Does not permit full text searching. Can search author, keyword, title & abstract fields.
Wolters Kluwer Digital Books
Offers PDF images.