Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Books, Book Chapters, and Book Reviews: How to Find Ebooks

Try Julius & Bobcat First

As a first pass to find an ebook, search JULIUS (Law LIbrary's catalog) and BOBCAT (Bobst Library's catalog). Links for many but not all NYU ebooks are included these catalogs. Bobcat will often provide links to ebooks on some free resources like Google Books.

If you do not find pertinent ebook in Julius or Bobcat, you might still be able to find one. See the strategies in the box below, which generally involve running a few quick searches over a range of platforms. Unfortunately, there is no one comprehensive source or method to identify and locate all online books available to NYU users, nor is there one platform to search across all NYU ebooks. Plus, not all books are available in ebook format and not all books that NYU owns in print are available online. In particular, a high portion of books from 1970s to mid-1990s are not available in ebook format. 

At any stage, NYU Law faculty and students, can email NYU Law librarian for assistance. We can help look for a specific book in ebook format or verify that ebook is not available. When you write us, please let us know where you are searched. 

Strategies to Try to Locate Ebooks After Checking Julius and Bobcat

Search WorldCat. Worldcat (a meta-catalog) might list an ebook with a url to an free online source or to a particular database. If so, you can test the URL. It may work. If not (and the link is to a database), you can also go back to Julius or Bobcat to see if NYU has that database and check if the ebook is available there. However, note that not all ebook packages on databases are the same. So, even though Worldcat says a book is available on an ebook platform owned by NYU, such as Ebook Central, does not guarantee that the book will be available to NYU users. 

Search a specific collection of ebooks put out by the book's publisher (if available). Click here to find those ebook collections. 

Check free ebook collections including Google Books, the Internet Archive, or OAIster. Find more here.

 

 

 

 

Strategies to Try to Locate Ebooks After Checking Julius and Bobcat

Search an ebook aggregator, a collection of ebooks on one platform from a number of publishers, such as Ebook CentralUniversity Press Scholarship Online, and Westlaw. Click here for a selection of aggregators. Which one to select? Look at the collection's coverage description. If not clear, Ebook Central can be a good place to start for more current scholarship.

Some sources and collections have wider coverage in certain subjects or jurisdictions. Look for an ebook collection that best fits your subject or jurisdiction. Bobst's Finding Ebook Research Guide groups databases offering ebooks by subject here Click here for databases offering historical (mostly legal) books. Subject-focused research guides can also point you to pertinent ebooks. Specifically, for foreign and international online books, see this research guide and this page in this guide. 

Finally, see if New York Public Library owns access to the ebook. New York Public offers an impressive array of ebooks for card holders. Information about membership is here. If you don’t already have a NYPL library card, you can apply for an electronic one using the SimplyE app. here