Treaty FAQsBluebook treaty sourcesCitations, signatories, parties, status, subjectsUnited Nations CharterUnited Nations & League of Nations treatiesAdditional Multilateral, IGO & special subject treaty sourcesIf the U.S. is a partyBilateral treaties & treaty sources for other countriesCommentaries & travaux préparatoires (drafting history)Soft law
BITS: Bilateral investment treatiesICSID, NAFTA, WTO
The practice of international law by other statesU.S. practice of international law
Documents, legislation & cases, generallySelected country reports and booksUN human rights websites & search enginesUN Human Rights Council, Commission & CommitteeHuman rights sources for AfricaEuropean Union: Charter of Fundamental RightsCouncil of Europe: European Convention on Human RightsInter-American Court & Commission
I.C.J. and P.C.I.J.U.S. cases on international law
Official treaty sourcesUnofficial treaty sourcesTreaties in Force: Citations, signatories, parties, status, subjectsUpdating Treaties in Force: Citations, signatories, parties, status, subjectsPresidential statements, proclamations, etc.
Agreements, documents, legislation, & case law
Nuremberg TrialsICC International Criminal CourtICTY International Criminal Tribunal for the Former YugoslaviaICTR International Criminal Tribunal for RwandaSpecial Court for Sierra Leone
This is the "Westlaw, LexisAdvance, HeinOnline, & Bloomberg Law" page of the "International Law: General Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Law: General Sources   Tags: foreign & international law, international law  

This guide lists essential sources for researching general aspects of international law. For specialized topics, such as human rights or international arbitration, see the guide International Law: Specialized Sources.
Last Updated: Aug 29, 2017 URL: http://nyulaw.libguides.com/international-law Print Guide RSS Updates

Westlaw, LexisAdvance, HeinOnline, & Bloomberg Law Print Page
  Search: 
 

International & foreign materials in the major U.S. legal databases

See also Websites, databases & research guides.

International content in the major U.S. legal databases varies.The topic "International" under the U.S. portion of a database generally contains U.S. materials on international law and not foreign or international content, which generally is located as follows:

  • Westlaw
    Browse>International Materials. There are materials not listed under the Browse heading "International Materials." See the lists "International Materials Index" and "International Arbitration," which are under "Related Legal" on the upper right side of the International Materials page. A search using the search box on the opening screen of Westlaw generally does NOT search the foreign and international sources. Before searching for foreign and international content, navigate to your source so that your source is showing in the search box.
  • LexisAdvance
    The "International" tab has foreign law materials for selected countries. Practice Area International has some non-U.S.materials, such as the WTO/GATT reports under International Trade Law>All International Trade Law Administrative Materials.
  • HeinOnline
    HeinOnline has numerous collections related to foreign and international law, including historical books, treaty collections for the UN and U.S., some UN materials, and journals. For a list of all relevant collections, see Browse Collections by Category>Foreign and International Law and >International Treaties and Agreements.
  • Bloomberg Law
    All Legal Content>Global Law. Selected content from Canada, the EU, UK, Hong Kong, UAE, Cayman Islands, and Jersey. Also includes some U.S. materials.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip