LibGuides: International Law: General Sources: Getting started--classics, encyclopedias, databases, etc.

Classics, introductions & other books

See also:
Books, Ebooks, Working papers, etc.
Law reviews, journals, articles

Akehurst's Modern Introduction to International Law, Malanczuk
Alvarez, The Impact of international Organizations on International Law
Alvarez, José E. International Organizations as Law-Makers, Oxford Scholarship Online
Weiler, Joseph, and Nissel, Alan T. International Law (2011)
Six-volume anthology of influential works on classical and contemporary international law.
Benchbook on International Law, Members of ASIL
Ed. by Diane Marie Amann.
Bowett's Law of International Institutions, Sands and Klein
Brierly's Law of Nations: An Introduction to the Role of International Law in International Relations, Oxford Public International Law
Brownlie's Principles of Public International Law, Crawford, Oxford Public International Law
Buergenthal and Murphy, Public International Law in a Nutshell
The Hague Academy's Collected Courses online/Recueil les Cours de L'Academie de la Haye en ligne, HeinOnline
The annual courses delivered at the Hague Academy of International Law by the world's foremost specialists in private and public international law.
Janis, International Law
Klabbers, International Law
Lowe, International Law, Oxford Public International Law
Mansell and Openshaw, International Law: A Critical Introduction
Oppenheim's International Law, Jennings & Watts
Oppenheim's International Law, Vol. 1, Peace, Jennings & Watts, Oxford Public International Law
Oppenheim's International Law: United Nations, Higgins, Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
Browse All>Book titles
Oppenheim's International Law: United Nations, Higgins
Oxford Bibliographies: International Law
Oxford Handbooks Online: Law
The Oxford Handbook of the History of International Law
The Oxford Handbook of the Theory of International Law, Oxford Handbooks Online
Research Handbook on the Theory and History of International Law, Orakhelashvili
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law
Restatement of the Law (Fourth), The Foreign Relations Law of the United States, Westlaw
The Fourth Restatement is a partial revision of the Third. On the Westlaw start page, the Restatements are listed under Secondary Sources.
Restatement of the Law (Third), The Foreign Relations Law of the United States, HeinOnlineAmerican Law Institute Library
The Restatements contain the expert, but non-binding, formulations of the law prepared by the American Law Institute. The Restatements are also in WestlawNext: Secondary Sources>Restatements & Principles of Law, and in print in the Law Library. Drafting has begun on the Fourth Restatement (see below).
DRAFT Restatement of the Law (Fourth), The Foreign Relations Law of the United States, Treaties, HeinOnline American Law Institute Library
DRAFT Restatement of the Law (Fourth), The Foreign Relations Law of the United States, Jurisdiction, HeinOnline American Law Institute Library
DRAFT Restatement of the Law (Fourth), The Foreign Relations Law of the United States, Sovereign Immunity, HeinOnline American Law Institute Library
Routledge Handbook of International Law
Shaw, International Law
Satow's Diplomatic Practice, Oxford Public International Law
The Sources of International Law, Oxford Public International Law
By H.W.A. Thirlway.
General Theory of International Law

Encyclopedias, dictionaries & directories

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, Oxford Public International Law
Each in-depth article concludes with a bibliography of books, articles and major documents. Print edition is at the Reference Desk.
Yearbook of International Organizations, Union of International Associations, Brill Online
Detailed descriptive information about 38,000 active and 30,000 dormant international organizations from 300 countries and territories. Current and historical statistics about the activities of international organizations.
Dictionary of International and Comparative Law
Guide to Latin in International Law
International Law: A Dictionary
The New Oxford Companion to Law, Oxford Reference
The New Oxford Companion to Law
The Oxford Companion to Law
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History, Oxford Reference
Print edition: Reference Desk
Oxford Language Dictionaries
There are also foreign language dictionaries and legal dictionaries at the Reference Desk.
Parry and Grant Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Law, Oxford Reference
Parry and Grant Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Law
Who's Who in Public International Law

Websites, databases & research guides

See also Westlaw, Lexis+, HeinOnline, & Bloomberg Law.

International Legal Research in a Nutshell
By Marci Hoffman & Robert C. Berring, Jr.
International Legal Research in a Global Community
By Heidi Frostestad Kuehl & Megan A. O'Brien.
International and Foreign Legal Research: A Coursebook, 2d ed.
By Marci Hoffman & Mary Rumsey.
International Law Legal Research
By Anthony S. Winer, Mary Ann E. Archer & Lyonette Louis-Jacques.
International Organizations, NYU Law Library
NYU Law Library databases on international law, Julius, Find Databases: Subject = International...
Expert, scholarly and professional organizations, NYU Law Library
Foreign & International Law Resources Database, HeinOnline
History of International Law, HeinOnline
Includes documents dating back to 1690 on International Law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and more.
LawPORT, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, School of Advanced Study, Univ. of London
Designed for post-graduate researchers, LawPORT now includes tutorials on citation using OSCOLA (the Oxford University Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities), customary international law, and treaties and international conventions.
Oxford Public International Law
Oxford Reports on International Law, Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law and OUP books and treatises on international law.
United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law
Audivisual archives, lectures, legal resources.
more...less...
(1) The Historic Archives contains documents and audiovisual materials relating to the negotiation and adoption of significant legal instruments under the auspices of the United Nations and related agencies since 1945; (2) the Lecture Series features a permanent collection of lectures on virtually every subject of international law given by leading international law scholars and practitioners from different countries and legal systems; and (3) the Research Library provides an on-line international law library with links to treaties, jurisprudence (UN, regional, intl and natl), publications and documents, scholarly writings and research guides.
United Nations International Law pages
United Nations Legal Publications Global Search
United Nations Office of Legal Affairs
WorldLII International Law Library