This LibGuide offers the NYU Law community essential resources for locating general information on companies, financial data, industry reports, and business news.
Bloomberg Law integrates primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news into one legal research system. The Business Intelligence Center provides easy access to several business development and competitive intelligence resources. Search a company name or ticker symbol for news and litigation highlights.
Passwords are provided to NYU Law faculty and currently-enrolled law students. Register for a Bloomberg Account by clicking the profile icon.
Scope: Global Company Types: Public and private companies Database Coverage: Information on over 3.5+ million Company Profiles, which may include financials, management profiles, capital structures, holdings, issuer credit ratings, key financial ratios, corporate actions, filings, and company hierarchy. Features:
From the Lexis homepage, click the Content tab to access Company & Financial. From here you can access company profiles, industry analyst reports, M&A/Donations, and SEC filings information.
Passwords are provided to law faculty and currently-enrolled law students.
Scope: Global Company Types: Public and private companies Database Coverage: Information on more than 80 million companies, industry reports, M&A /donations, SEC Filings
This database covers a broad spectrum of public records, including personal information, business data, legal filings, regulatory compliance, and more, aimed at providing comprehensive background and verification services.
Scope: United States Company Types: public and private companies Database Coverage: corporate filings, ownership details, or other business-related information
Westlaw Company Investigator is a research tool that provides detailed information on U.S. companies, including corporate filings, ownership structures, subsidiaries, and mergers and acquisitions data. It can be accessed from the Westlaw Precision Homepage under Content Types> Specialty Areas.
Passwords are provided to law faculty and currently-enrolled law students.
If prompted for a Client ID, you may enter NYULAW or any text to continue.
Scope: United States Company Types: Public and private companies Database Coverage: Corporate filings, company ownership details, subsidiary structures, mergers and acquisitions data, financial reports, and other business-related information.
Business: Insights includes company profiles, mergers & acquisitions, ticker symbols, news articles, company histories , financials, balance sheets, and more.
Scope: Global Company Types: Public and private companies Database Coverage: Companies, Industries, Countries, Financial Reports, News Features:
Company History
Company Chronology
SWOT analysis
Quick Access to: Academic Journal Articles, Market Research Reports, Market Share / Rankings, Trade Journal Articles, Case Studies, etc.
Hoovers contains public and private company profiles. Includes key executive profiles, industry coverage, and detailed company fact sheets.
Scope: Global Company Types: public and private companies Database Coverage: Companies - including company profiles and executives, SEC filing, Analyst reports, News, Industry insights, Market research reports on industries Features:
One stop report builder
D&B Hoobers’ Business Signals search
SWOT analysis
Technologies In Use (help to understand the technology)
Mergent Intellect is a directory of public and private companies in the US and worldwide. Includes contact information, financials, and key personnel. It provides information from Hoovers Online and Dun and Bradstreet but with additional downloading capabilities.
Scope: Global Company Types: public and private companies Database Coverage: Companies - including company profiles and executives, SEC filing Features:
Customize downloads: Up to 20,000 records per request
Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
More Info Users must create an individual account using an NYU email address at the above link. Accounts reset annually on August 1st and users must re-register. Users must always use NYU Libraries' link to log in.
Daily download and print limits are restricted to 10 rows, with a monthly maximum of 25 rows. Screen capture is prohibited. For bulk data access, please go to PitchBook via WRDS. If you do not have a WRDS account, please refer to the WRDS guide for more information.
Scope: Global Company Types: Private companies Database Coverage: companies, deals, funds, and investors across the private investment lifecycle Features:
Most comprehensive database of private companies
Great for venture capital (VC) and startup research.
Candid's GuideStar provides data on IRS-recognized nonprofit organizations in the U.S. Users can search nonprofits according to their operating budgets, size, location, and National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities (NTEE). Highlight include a financial trends analysis snapshot for each organization and downloadable form 990s.
To access the premium section of Guidestar, you must register and create an account. Once registered, NYU users are permitted to download 1000 records per month.
Scope: United States Company Types: Nonprofits Database Coverage: Information derived from IRS Form 990 filings, revenue, expenses, and executive compensation. Feature: Comprehensive Coverage of IRS-Recognized Nonprofits in the U.S.
Browse millions of annual returns filed by tax-exempt organizations with ProPublica’s Nonprofit Explorer. See details like executive compensation, revenue, expenses and more. Search for an organization or a person, or search the full text of filings.
International Business Information by 
