LibGuides: Company Information and Data: Company Financials

Financial Information

When analyzing company financials, it is crucial to determine whether the company is public or private. In the U.S., public companies are required to file financial statements with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), making these filings freely accessible. For private companies, financial information is typically limited to broad estimates provided by various sources.

Public Companies

Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law integrates primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news into one legal research system. The Business Intelligence Center provides easy access to several business development and competitive intelligence resources.
Passwords are provided to NYU Law faculty and currently-enrolled law students. Register for a Bloomberg Account by clicking the profile icon.

Scope: Global
Company Types: Public and private companies
Database Coverage: Information on over 3.5+ million Company Profiles, which may include financials, management profiles, capital structures, holdings, issuer credit ratings, key financial ratios, corporate actions, filings, and company hierarchy.
Features:

Company Watchlist/Lookup
Company Screener
Company Report Writer
Litigation analytics
People Search
Deal Analytics
EDGAR Search

Bloomberg Terminal Guide
Bloomberg is a terminal-bound financial services platform with advanced analytical and data functions. This guides explains how to find and use NYU's Bloomberg terminals. The Bloomberg terminal includes full text access to Bloomberg.com via the BBG command.

Scope: Global
Company Types: Public companies and select private firms worldwide, with a focus on large- and mid-cap businesses across various industries.
Coverage: Includes data on over 11,500 companies worldwide, with historical records dating back to the early 2000s.

Capital IQ
Data on public and private companies, financial statements, M&A/deals, PE/VC, LBOs, and executives and boards worldwide. Use the screening and charting features to create lists of firms for tasks such as investment analysis coursework or your job search.
Third-party cookies for the domain https://secure.signin.spglobal.com need to be enabled for access. If you are unable to access this database, please enable cookies and/or try a different browser.

Scope: Global
Company Types: Public and private companies
Database Coverage: Comprehensive company profiles, including financial data, industry insights, news, mergers and acquisitions (M&A), and supply chain details.
Features:

Dashboard access, detailed financials, including historical and projected data.
Industry benchmarking and peer comparison tools.
Real-time updates on news and market events.
Analysis of supply chain relationships and M&A activities.
Exportable data for integration into reports and models via a screener.
Excel plug-in for seamless data extraction (Windows only).

LSEG
Known in corporate as Eikon. The successor product to Thomson ONE and Refinitiv. Individual account creation required before you can login. Account requests are processed in 7-10 business days. (Already have an account? Log into the web interface: https://workspace.refinitiv.com/web
You may download the Mac/PC software here: https://workspace.refinitiv.com/

Scope: Global
Company Types: Public and private companies
Database Coverage: Extensive company profiles, market data, financials, industry insights, news, and analytics tools.
Features:

Dashboard access, detailed financials, including historical and projected data.
Industry benchmarking and peer comparison tools.
Real-time updates on news and market events.
Analysis of supply chain relationships and M&A activities.
Excel plug-in and Python Jupyter environment (via the Codebook app).
ESG analysis powered by Refinitiv ESG Metrics

Westlaw
The "Business Law Center" (under Content Types tab> under Specialty Areas) contains a list of business information sources. You can search by entering search terms, company names, or other identifying company information in the search field. You can also browse by selecting any of the form or filing types on the page.
Passwords are provided to law faculty and currently-enrolled law students.

If prompted for a Client ID, you may enter NYULAW or any text to continue.

Scope: U.S., with some global filings and disclosures
Company Types: Public and private companies
Database Coverage: Sample agreements, M&A, SEC filings, public offerings, private placement, deals, news
Features: EDGAR Precedent Agreements Tool

Private Companies

Pitchbook
Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
More Info
Users must create an individual account using an NYU email address at the above link. Accounts reset annually on August 1st and users must re-register. Users must always use NYU Libraries' link to log in.
Daily download and print limits are restricted to 10 rows, with a monthly maximum of 25 rows. Screen capture is prohibited. For bulk data access, please go to PitchBook via WRDS. If you do not have a WRDS account, please refer to the WRDS guide for more information.

Scope: Global
Company Types: Private companies
Database Coverage: companies, deals, funds, and investors across the private investment lifecycle
Features:

Most comprehensive database of private companies
Great for venture capital (VC) and startup research.
Bulk data download available via WRDS

CB Insights
CB Insights is a venture capital analytics platform that provides real-time information about startups, venture capital companies, and angel investors in the United States.
Requires creation of a CB Insights account with an active NYU email. If your credentials have expired or you receive a trial account error, contact info@cbinsights.com.
Not all "Research" reports fall under NYU's subscription. Locked "Expert Intelligence" reports are not sold to academic clients.
Individual accounts may only download up to 6,000 rows of data per year. Faculty accounts with expanded downloading capabilities may be available on a first-come, first-served basis. Email the Business Library team using our form for more information.

Scope: Global
Company Types: Primarily private companies, including startups, unicorns, and venture-backed firms.
Database Coverage:

Startup funding and investor data
M&A and IPO activity
Market and industry trend reports

Features:

Real-time data on funding, deals, and valuations
Proprietary research reports on emerging industries
Company analytics and customizable visualizations

Preqin
Provides financial information and data on alternative asset markets worldwide. NYU's subscription includes private equity and venture capital, private debt, real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure, sustainability/ESG, and Preqin's Insight+ analysis. Other modules are not available at this time.
Users may request large data downloads (that require delivery via a custom Preqin link) via Preqin's live chat. Preqin's private equity and venture capital data is also accessible via WRDS.

Scope: Global
Company Types: private companies
Database Coverage: fund performance, fundraising, investments, deals, fund managers, and investors, along with detailed market trends and benchmarks.
Features:

NYU's subscription includes access to Preqin's Insight+ analysis and data on private equity, venture capital, private debt, real estate, hedge funds, infrastructure, and sustainability/ESG.
Bulk data download available via WRDS

Research Guides

Finance and Financial Data - NYU Libraries