Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See also our ebook collections for historical books.
Archive of Americana, Readex
Collection includes "[s]earchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past."
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
ECCO contains digital images of every page of over a hundred thousand books published during the 18th century in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. It offers full-text searching of millions of pages.
Legal Classics, Hein Online
Hein Online collection of full text (PDF) collection of Anglo American law and law related treatises. Includes works by Joseph Story, Louis Brandeis, Edward Coke. Search by title, author, subject, full text.
Here's a path to use: Special Focus Collections -> Anglo-American Legal Treatises. There are also legal treatises in the British Empire Studies Collections (also under "Special Focus Collections"
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises
MOML is a full-text searchable collection of 21,000 British and American legal treatises from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The 10 million+ pages available in this database are viewable as PDF images. Content was originally published in the microfilm sets Nineteenth-Century Legal Treatises and Twentieth-Century Legal Treatises.